Chapter 1 / Early Years
The follow history of St. Mary's congregation near Moselle, Mo. was started January 1, 1907 by the Rev. Anthony Wigger, the first resident pastor. The facts, as stated therein, were related to him by the4 older members of the congregation who had lived to see them.
In the year 1876 three families, to wit: Wm. Finder, Ulrich Breer and John Otten had erected a small log building for a school near the present residence of the first named Wm. Finder to enable their children getting a Catholic education. They employed Mr. August Bolte as teacher, who was to receive a salary of $75.00 per annum, which the good people for want of ready cash paid in grain, mainly wheat. Each of the three families also boarded the teacher, free of charge, for the period of four months each. They also agreed to furnish him a horse and saddle as often as he would wish, principally that he might be able to attend the Sunday services in the parish church. Soon there were other Catholic families who neigher could, nor would send their children to parish school, 8 to 20 miles distant. They also wanted to send their children to this newly founded branch school. The people held a meeting in Mr. Finder's house and came to the conclusion that it would be best not only to have the school, but also to form a mission congregation, which could be attended to once a month. They agreed to build a church and school in about the center of this missionary district. Mr. Finder showed a map of Franklin County and pointed out the location where the mission buildings should be erected. As they, however, thought they might have made a mistake in location the place on the map, Mr. Wm. Finder and Mr. Joseph Hanneken were requested to measure off with a rope to find the exact cent of the settlement. At the same time a committee was appointed to call upon the pastor of St. John's congregation at Gildehaus, their parish church, the Rev. Father John Gerard Nordmeyer, to inform them of their resolution and to ask him respectfully to assist in the undertaking. He received the committee graciously and promised his full assistance, but he was an old man and did nothing in the matter.
The 15-18 families living scattered within the boundaries of this mission district were obliged to go, as before, to the parish church, some ten to twelve miles distant.
In the winter of 1879-1890, the teacher Mr. Bolte sent a letter to the German Vicar General of the Archdiocese, Very Rev. Henry Muehlsiepen of blessed memory, begging of him to see to it that the mission Moselle be duly established. Father Muehlsiepen asked Father Nordmeyer of Gildehaus about the matter, but not receiving any satisfactory answer came himself in early spring of 1880 to see what could be done. Mr. Anthony Eckelkamp received the Vicar General at the Moselle station and brought him safely through the waters of the river Boubeuse, then very much swelled from the spring freshets. Father Muehlsiepen styed over night at the house of Mr. John Otten, and on the following morning selected the site for the church and asked the people to erect a frame church thereon. The site selected was a little west of the place measured out with the rope, and belonged to Mr. David Overschmidt, who at once made a present of three acres of land for the new foundation. The work on the church was started at once. Father Muehlsiepen sent a plan and the specifications for the building.
There was an offer from a St. Louis lumber firm to furnish all the lumber necessary for $350.00. But, the few members of the new mission wee afraid this would be too much for them to pay, as they could not look for any help from outside, least of all from the mother congregation, St. John's.
Mr. Wm. Hanneken rode on horseback to Washington, Mo.; about 18-19 miles distant, where he contracted to get the lumber as well as the labor for the sum of $350.00.
Early in the summer of 1880 the Washington carpenters started work on the new building, a small frame church, 22 x 32 feet. As soon as they were finished, the plasterers from the same town started their work. Altars and pews were ordered from and made by the altar builders at Washington. A white chasuble and other things necessary for the holy sacrifice of mass were purchased. When all was complete, the church and its furnishings had cost $750.00 for most of which the people owed.
On September 1st (of the same year) 1880, the Very Rev. Father Muehlsiepen came, blessed the new church and celebrated mass therein for the first time. The people were greatly elated. After the services a pleasant picnic was held on the church grounds where mostly watermelons were sold for the benefit of the building fund. David Hanneken, born about that time. a son of Henry Hanneken of Moselle, was baptized on the day of his birth in the new church and has the distinction of being the first one baptized therein.
One year after the church was built, in the winter of 1881, the log house was erected which served as a schoolhouse since then and up this time.
The following are the names of the families and single persons who have helped to build the church in 1880: Jacob Austgen, Ulrich Breer, Wm. Finder, Jacob Gasch, Wm. Hanneken, Henry Hanneken (Meramec), Hry Lindemann, Hermann Lindemann, John Otten and his unmarried brother Wm. Otten, David Overschmidt, Peter Prentner, Hanry Pomm, and Lucan Roth.
Early during the contemplation of establishing the mission some families living a little north of church had expressed a desire to also join the Moselle congregation. They were: Henry Hanneken, teacher, Bernard Brinkmann, Henry Hanneken (Pin Oak), Joseph Hanneken, Clemens Vondera and Richard Vondera. But, the selection of the church site and some other arrangements not being agreeable to them, they withdrew entirely and left the burden to the above named thirteen families, continuing to attend services at St. John's (Gildehaus). But after the church and school were completed and paid for, they consented to join the Moselle mission.
Father Muehlsiepen himself came in the beginning once a month to say mass, preach, get instructions, baptize, etc.. When he could not himself come, he sent another priest in his place. This continued until December 1880 when Rev. Bernard Stemker came once a month from Pacific. When he was sent by the Archbishop to save the Kirkwood congregation from ruin, his successor, Rev. Feltmann continued to come as also his successors: in April 1885 Father Hennes and in February 1887, Father Gadell. From March to September 1891 Father muhlsiepen again attended in person every month when the pastor Sullivan, Rev. Henry Hussmann took over the mission and came twice a month. The arrangement was continued under his successor Rev. Chas Schaefer from October 1895 to April 1904. When Rev. Henry Fabry succeeded him, the last three named, as stated being pastor of the Sullivan, MO. parish.
The first parochial teacher at Moselle, Mr. August Bolte, continued in his office until 1883. When he left, the little congregation was a sore dilemma. But the people were determined to keep up the Catholic school, considering it the foundation for the future. Mr. Henry Hanneken, a member of the Moselle congregation, who had attended hight schools in Germany, was prevailed upon to become teacher. He assented, went to Washington, MO. for a time to prepare himself and learn to play the organ and become the teacher in the fall of 1883. For three years, up to June 1886, he managed the school with distinction. Right in the start he prevailed on having melodeon for the church, gave himself an ox to be raffled, realizing $75.00 and the congregation rejoiced by having high mass when their pastor came for service. The people had promised Mr. Henneken to build him a residence near the church and school, which was built in 1883 under the direction of the then pastor Father Feltmann. The lumber was bought very cheap at the Richwoods, Mo., saw mill and hauled from there, enabling the congregation to build the two rooms and kitchen house for a cash outlay of $50.00. Mr. Hanneken lived there as long as he taught school.
In September 1886 a certain Mr. Mund was appointed teacher and he remained for three years. Then Mr. Henneken, who had farmed during these years, was reappointed. But this time, he taught for one year only, preferring the farming, and a self styled "Dr. Arnold" was accepted, but had to leave during the first few moths. Mr. Hanneken was again prevailed upon to take over the school, which he did and remained in the position until 1897, being one of the most proficient Catholic lay teachers. Rev. Charles Schaefer engaged in September 1897 Miss Katie M. Weber who came with her younger sister Miss Lizzie who was to keep house for both. The teacher's residence, being too small for this purpose, Father Schaefer had it enlarged. The roof was taken off and a second story containing two attic rooms was added. A new roof was put on, the rooms were plastered, a stairway placed in the house, and the entire cost of the change did not exceed $200.
Miss Weber taught for two years, and then Miss Mary Hilkemeier was appointed her successor, but remained one year only when she married. In 1900 Miss Mary Wernert became teacher, remained for two years and was succeeded by her sister Miss Laura Wernert. In June 1904 Father Fabry engaged again Miss Kate W3eber who occupied the teacher's residence with her aged parents.
An addition to the old frame church was built in the fall of 1896, a new sanctuary and a sacristy. Mr. Wm. Finder did this work and was ably assisted by other members of the congregation. The Messrs. Finder, Wm. Otten and Frank Espowe who had never before tackled anything of the kind even did masonry and plastering work and did it very satisfactory. The cost of the addition was $300. New pews were also bought, and Mr. Finder and Mr. John Eckelkamp elevated the choir loft.
The first trustees of the congregation were the Messrs. Wm. Hanneken, John Hagedorn and WM. Vondera followed them. The first named died on December 11, 1907 and Messrs. George Otten and Jacob Gaasch were added to the two remaning trustees. The trustees for 1910 were Messrs. John Hagedorn, Jacob Gaasch, John Finder and Anthony Hanneken.
The Most Rev. Archbishop, having been informed that the Moselle congregation wished to become a parishinstead of a mission as heretofore, and His Grace being a newcomer to St. Louis, dispatched the Rev. Anthony Wigger, to Moselle to look the situation over. He was assistant at St. Augustine’s church, St. Louis. Unannounced, Father Wigger came on Monday, June 24, 1905, to Moselle. Mr. Henry Hanneken called the “Meramec” Hanneken, who lived at the Moselle town, harnessed two of his sturdy Missouri mules to his buggy and took Father Wigger to the church site. No one was there, except Misss Weber, who lived with her aged parents in the teacher’s residence, to give the Rev. gentleman any information about the place and Father Wigger left again without making any mention of his intentions. But he had a chance to see the beautiful country around; the buildings of the congregation all poor but well kept up, and seemed very satisfied.
Mr. Hanneken, the former teacher, had written to Very Rev. Hoog, the successor of Father Muhlsiepen as Vicar General of the Archbishop, that it was the earnest wish of the members of the mission to become an independent parish. Father Fabry had two years previous already mentioned to the congregation that it would become a parish. The people had often said, “We have been a mission here for 25 years are still a mission and there seems no prospect of ever getting ahead this way”. The trustees and other prominent members of the congregation were invited by letter during the week of Father Wigger’s visit to attend a general meeting of the congregation on the following Monday, July 31, 1905.
This invitation aroused the hopes of the members that they would soon have a resident pastor in their midst. Mr. Henry Lindemann, a former trustee who was first taken to his home, where dinner was served, and where the former and well deserving teacher, Mr. Henry Hanneken, was present. The necessity of a residing priest was emphasized, or the small congregation would entirely dissolve. Father Wigger and his host then went to the church where the other members were already assembled. There were present: the three trustees, Messrs. John Hagedorn, Ed Breitenbach and Wm. Vondera and the trustee of the school. Messrs. Math. Vondra and Henry Lindemann. Father Wigger contemplated with these gentlemen at length whether or not the congregation would be able to exist independently. The members of the congregation were unanimously of the opinion that it was and finally Father Wigger promised to be there for services on the following Sunday, August 6. but now the great difficulty arose: Where is the pastor to live? The teacher’s residence was not suitable for a rectory. It would be best; therefore, that the pastor should continue to live in St. Louis until a new rectory would be built. This Father Wigger declined to do, as he wanted himself to be present at the erection of the rectory and would be willing to put up at the teacher’s house until the new house would be ready. Miss Weber, therefore, had to move to Mrs. Otten’s house for the time being. Father Wigger came with his sister who was to be his housekeeper, during the week. On Sunday, August 6, 1905 everybody, large and small came to mass and the little old frame church was filled to overflowing. High Mass began, the “Veni Creator” was sung and the people wondered what the new pastor would say to them. However, he was a man of few words and spoke in short as follows:
“My dear people of St. Mary’s parish! The Most Rev. Archbishop has sent me here to be your pastor. The Blessed Mother of our Lord is the Patroness of this church. May she assist me to be a blessing to you all. That I may show you the right way to heaven, than you may walk this right way and that all of you will be united with God and His good time. Usually a new pastor delivers an inaugural sermon. I shall abstain from this usage. I am a man of few words. I presume you all are sensible people. So am I. Therefore, I cannot see why we could not get along well together. I did not see a better place. I am yet a young man and possess the energy – and you shall find out that I do possess it – to make this mission a flourishing independent parish. THAT I SHALL DO, and for that I came here. Now, if you want the same result then shall we, with God’s help, with the intercession of our benign patroness “Mary of the Perpetual Help”, get along satisfactorily.”
After this short introduction, Father Wigger started his sermon and astonished the congregation by his eloquence, which did not think a man of so exceptional talent would be sent by the Archbishop to a straggling parish like St. Mary’s at Moselle. The people feared very much that their new pastor was sent only for a short time to help them on their feet and that he soon would be called to a larger and more fruitful field.
Now they went to work with a will. The plans were well prepared and at a parish meeting it was resolved that all male communicants should put in five day labor to complete the work. The congregation was poor, money scarce and times were comparatively hard. On October 23, 1905 when farm work was mostly ended, the felling of trees on the church property was begun. Mr. John Strubberg sawed them into boards at the price of 45 cents per hundred feet.
First of all, a stable was built. Father Wigger directed the work himself and Mr. Henry Hanneken, who had been a clogmaker in the old country, together with Mr. Finder, assisted him. Everyone helped who could handle a saw or a hatchet and on the 15th of December the spacious stable was finished.
While this building was going up, stone was quarried from the farm of Ben Hanneken near the church to be used in the foundation of the rectory. Mr. Hermann Kopsieker was employed as the mason for making the foundation and on the first day of February, 1906 the contractors for the carpenter work, D. Lambeth & Co., began their work. Under the able supervision of the pastor, the framework of the new rectory was soon completed. The brother of the pastor, Rev. Peter Wigger of the Holy Cross Church in North St. Louis had made and donated the plans.
During the entire winter, which was an exceptionally mild one, the work was continued and at the same time the necessary repairs on the older old smokehouse, as the cellar under the same was full of water continually. The smokehouse was raised a foot and a new roof put on. The vibration of the bell had injured the old frame church and an independent belfry was erected outside.
In May 1906 the new rectory was ready to be plastered. The contract for this work was given to Mr. Henry Eckelkamp of Washington, Mo., at the price of eighteen cents per square foot for three coatings. While the plastering was going on the old paper was removed which had been used to stop up the crevices in the church; the cracks were closed with plaster and the whole church building twice whitewashed at an expense of $7.00.
A chicken-house and other necessary outhouses were built at the same time. In all these works, the Rev. Pastor not only directed the men, but also helped himself with manual labor. After the painters, G.Lewis & Co. had completed their work the pastor moved into the new rectory on July 4, 1906. On the following Sunday he also blessed the building in the following Sunday he also blessed the building in the presence of the entire congregation. All the members came in and expressed their delight with the handsome residence of their now truly resident pastor.
Miss Weber moved back into the teacher’s home that had just been vacated by Father Wigger. All the new buildings and the repairs made on the old buildings cost about $2,500.00. The pastor was happy to be able to say in his annual report in January next year that of the sum expended, $1,500.00 had already been paid.
During the summer of 1906 no more work was done for the parish, but in the fall the cistern had to be dug and walled for the priest’s residence, which was done by Mr. Henry Vondera for $80.00. Being on the knoll it had to be expected that Mr. V. would have to work through rock, which began to show at three feet below the surgace. Many charges of powder were necessary to make a cistern of fifteen feet depth.
No bishop had ever come to the small parish of St. Mary’s of Moselle. To be confirmed, the members had to go to St. Johns or to Pacific. Now, however, Father Wigger invited His Grave Archbishop Glennon to visit. A good impression was to be made on the visitor and it was therefore necessary to straighten the altogether too crooked road through the church property. It took a few days of hard work to do this and the road was laid straight along the line of telephone posts. The road was topped with gravel. Mr. Henry Vondrera was asked to lay cement walks around the rectory. If needed many a load of sand and gravel and many bushels of cement, but the job was complete in two weeks time. The 30th of October arrived; the day set for the visit of the Ordinary. As many as could go went on horseback to the Moselle station to receive the visitor and accompany him to the church. There were about 80 horsemen, marshaled by Mr. Martin Hobelmann to receive His Grace and as many again in the evening to take him back to the railroad station. The Archbishop appeared very much pleased with the reception. He was taken in the barouche of Mr. Wm. Nebur, to which two splendid white horses were hitched.
Up until now, green wood had always been used to heat church and school. This was to be changed. Mr. Henry Hanneken was asked to build a woodshed, sufficiently ample to contain all the firewood for church, school, rectory and teacher’s house. The lumber left over from the building of the rectory was sufficient for this purpose of erecting a woodshed, and within a week the building was ready. The school children especially were glad that no more green wood need be put in the stoves.
On the second Sunday of January, 1907 the pastor invited the people to a meeting to be held following the high-mass. “What is going on now?” everyone asked. No one could answer. Father Wigger at the well-attended meeting, told the people that the old log building, heretofore used as their school building, was ready to collapse. They well knew, he said that the old frame church was entirely too small for the growing congregation.
He proposed that the old church be changed into a schoolhouse and that a new and substantial church be built. The work was to extend over several years in order that the members of the congregation could do most of the work necessary themselves and thereby save the outlay of much cash money. Father Anton Wigger said that his brother, Father Peter had donated his plans and specifications of a large stone building and that this was just what St. Mary’s congregation needed.
He put the plan before the January 1907 meeting, in way of a motion, which was voted upon and passed by 65 against 5 votes. It was also resolved to start with the work at once. Again each communicant of the congregation should devote five working days for the church building to quarry the rock, which came from the farm of Mr. Ed Breitenbach near the church. Mr. Henry Vondera was the overseer of the work of quarrying the rock. A derrick being needed to load the rock on the wagons, Messrs. Adolph Unnerstall and Ed. Eckelkamp went to work and made one in eight day’s time, the material costing $75.00.
In February 1907 Mr. Henry Hanneken was asked to build a new fence around the cemetery. He applied himself to this at once and on the flowing Sunday, the members of the congregation could admire the graceful wire fence that Mr. Hanneken had built with the assistance of a few neighbors. Also, at this time Mr. Hermann Finder painted the old frame church, which had not seen any paint applied for some time, at a cost to the congregation of $13.50. The wood lot north of the road had not been cleaned for a long time, if ever, and Mr. Wm. Finder undertook it to make the lot a pretty, if only small, forest or park. The school children helped in their free time to burn up the rash.
The Easter collection of 1906 amounted to $51.75, the offertory collection to $12.51, a total of $64.26 which the Rev. Pastor donated to the parish. A collection at the end of the same year netted about $165.00 and was used to pay off current expenses. A total of 380 working days were donated by members of the congregation for the erection of the new church. As mentioned, each member was expected to donate 5 working days. Those with teams received a credit of two working day for each day applied and those who could not work themselves were released of their obligation by giving $1.00 for every day. March 5, 1907 was the last working day at the quarry.
The Easter collections of the next five years were as follows:
Year Envelope Basket Total
1907 $62.35 $6.55 $68.90
1908 $43.10 $8.25 $51.35
1909 $38.75 $10.25 $49.00
1910 $51.00 $9.95 $60.95
1911 $52.75 $6.15 $58.90
Father Wigger left the congregation on May 1, 1907 to take a five-month trip with his Rev. brother to visit their aged mother in Germany. For the first two month of his absence, the Redemptorist Father of St. Joseph’s College, Kirkwood, attended to the congregation, then a younger brother of the pastor Rev. P. Joseph Wigger, took charge. Two picnics were held during Father Wigger’s absence, one on July 4th and the other on August 28th, both “beerless”. Shortly before the pastor returned from his trip Mr. Henry Vondera put up a cement platform in front of the old church which greatly improved the access to the building.
Father Wigger was to return on September 27th. The congregation, joyful to have him in their midst again, turned out in full force on horseback receiving him at the Moselle station. The pastor was not a little surprised and pleased over this unexpected reception. Upon arrival at the church place, Father Wigger gave a humorous account of his voyage, shook hands with everyone and received another surprise when the people handed his a purse with $26.25, made up in very short time, as a token of their joy. Father Wigger in turn donated the collection for the church building fund.
In the fall of 1907, Miss Rosalie Bechtold took over the school. She boarded at the rectory, and the teacher’s residence was now vacant, it was changed into a school. The only purpose of the now abandoned old log schoolhouse was that of a assembly hall for the congregation before they entered church on Sundays for services. On January 8, 1907 telephone service was installed in the rectory. In the following month, Mr. Wm. Finder planted cedar trees around the cemetery, the seedlings having been dug on the farm of his son George. During the vacation days of 1908 new toilets were put in for the school children near the woodshed. The shed was also weather boarded. The entire expense for both, including the cement work on the closets, amounted to about $50.00.
Another comparatively cheap job, which was executed in connection with the latter work, was the putting up of galvanized iron gutters and spouts on the north side of the church. The downspouts were connected with the toilets to flush them with every rain; a sewer pipe bringing in the waste about 30 feet further down in the open field. All of this cost only $11.00. Mr. Henry Vondera and Mr. H. H. Hanneken did the carpenter and cement work, Mr. Hermann Finder the painting and Busch Bros. Of Union, MO. The guttering.
When school opened that fall, the children were given a treat by being allowed to tear down the old stable, which impeded the view. This stable had, in fact, been the first schoolhouse of the congregation. It had been built next to Mr. Wm. Finder’s house and was removed in 1880 to the church property, where it served as a schoolhouse unil the log house was erected. Formerly, the children in school sat on long benches. In August 1908 Mr. H.H. Hanneken put up a wainscoting along the walls of the room, cut up the benches and made them into individual desks, a change very much appreciated by the children.
Toward the end of 1908, after the entire farm work was completed, the Rev. pastor asked his congregation to again go to work on the new church. The first work necessary was the leveling of the building lot. With their teams and scrapers, the members completed this work in three days time. The earth from this excavation was used to heighten and fill up the road leading through the church property.
On November 24 Mr. Joseph Conradi, an architect from St. Louis, arrived to lay out the foundation of the building which was to be made of concrete. The gravel necessary for the concrete work was taken from the Bourbeuse River near Shawneetown Ford and the congregation stated hauling the gravel on December 9th. By the 20th of that month, 340 loads of gravel had been brought to the place of building. Six hundred bags of cement were bought in St. Louis at thirty cent per bag, which arrived on December 28th. Twenty of our farmer wagons hauled the cement from the station to St. Mary’s where the bags were stored in the old log school. As the weather was very favorable the lying of the foundation was started at once and completed by united efforts of the members within five days.
Every man and young man was asked in a meeting held on January 3 1909, to donate to the church another two days work. Not until the foundation had been laid and had settled did the first snow fall on January 11th a good two-foot snow. Meanwhile, a wagon water tank had been purchased from A. J. Child & Son of St. Louis at an expense of about $10.00 to haul the water necessary for the building.
Also, the Haberberger Brothers of St. John’s had set up their saw mill close to the new building on the property of Mr. Henry Hanneken, to cut the lumber for the building. When they were not busy with this they executed orders from the farmers in the vicinity to saw lumber for them. Those who had trees for lumber paid fifty cents per one hundred feet for the sawing others who had no trees paid $1.65 per one hundred feet for the boards, a price, which was then considered high.
We must mention that the leveling of the foundation had been done until the workers came to the natural rock. Upon this rock, the concrete foundation had been made, and now everything was ready to have the rock walls go up. As there was no experienced mason in all the country around, Father Wigger went to St. Louis to engage the services of one who could put up the walls in a proper and scientific manner. He contracted with Mr. Peter A Schwab to do the work for $2500.00, material and scaffoldling to be furnished by the congregation.
Mr. Schwab started on the work on July 12, 1909. His nephew Vincent Schwab assisted him, and he engaged Mr. Henry Vondera of our congregation as a helper. It truly was hard work for them during the hot summer months. Cement and sand were used for mortar, the sand being hauled from the river, on the confluence of the Meramec with the Bourbeuse, the property of Mr. Ed Breitenbach near the clubhouse. Members of the congregation excavated, within the basement of the church a space for the heating plant. Work had to be done with wheelbarrows and cost $31.00. A further expense of $41.25 was incurred to dig out the trenches along the middle of the church in which the concrete foundation was laid for the wall holding the joists.
In consequence of the continued heat without relief by rain during July and August, Mr. Schwab took sick on August 20th and had to quit work. But the building went ahead, anyhow, as Mr. Henry H. Hanneken, with other men who know something of carpenter work, began laying the joists. While Mr. Schwab lay sick in town, his nephew continued the work, hewing the rock and also setting up the stone. That he is no means an artisan, the front wall of the church is testimony of, which he completed by himself. Mr. Schwab was able to return to work on September 13, 1909 and engaged the help of Mess. Joseph Eckelkamp and John Hobelmann. When the walls of the sacristy and sanctuary were about twelve feet high scaffolding was necessary to be put up. Mr. John Eckelkamp donated thirty-five slender oak trees from his farm, each about thirty-five feet high, which were felled, hauled to the building and set up as props for the scaffolding. Six hundred bags of cement had been used for the concrete foundation. Three hundred twenty bags of cement were used for the mason work thus far, but many more would be needed for the completion of the work. The Rev. pastor bought another lot of six hundred bags, which when they arrived at the railroad station, were hauled to St. Mary’s by the young men of the congregation as the other before had been. As all of the young people had worked so faithful, Father Wigger permitted them to have a dance on October 4th and to use the ready joists for a dancing floor. It turned out to be a great and pleasurable event for the youth of the congregation.
Father Wigger read a report of the first Sunday in November showing that up to that date $1,349.00 had been expended on the new church that $1,550.00 had been received for the building fund and that, consequently, there was $201.00 on hand. All the rock previously quarried having been used up, the congregation resoved to quarry a quantity more to keep the masons at work in the fair weather then prevailing. But the masons had to quit their work for the winter on December 7th, as cold weather made further progress impossible. The continued fully up to March 1, 1910. Work, however that could be done by its members continued. On the Sunday after New Years, the congregation had a general meeting where it was resolved unanimously that each male communicant should donate another ten days for the building of the new church. The quarrying, successful done on Mrs. Breitenbach’s farm the year before, was repeated with equal success. Within a very short time another three hundred loads of rock were hauled to the building. Mrs. Breitenbach’s quarry now being exhausted; the men looked around for another to furnish rock suitable for the church. None was found quite suitable so the men tried at another point of Mrs. Breitenbach’s farm and really were rewarded for their efforts. For the window and doorsills, a softer and more easily hewn rock, called cotton rock was used which was found on the farm of Mrs. J. H. Hanneken. As the winter had left for good, Mr. Schwab returned to his work on March 8th. Work on the west side of the sacristy was so far advanced that the large windows could be put in on March 12th. During the Easter week, the masons were able to put in their place the ten long and heavy windowsill, five on each side of the church. The men doing the carpenter work were now able to put the roof on the west side of the sacristy, and when this was complete, they put up scaffolding around the sanctuary, which also had been finished to the height of the sacristy. On May 23rd, the five window frames on the eastside were put up and the work continued, although often interrupted by the frequent rains of that summer.
July 4, 1910 had been set as the day for the solemn blessing of the corner stone. The stone, which had been engraved with the words: “In honorem B.Mariac V. Julii 10, 1910”, had with great difficulty been gotten ready in time. The Vicar General, Msgr. O. S. Hoog, had come to bless the cornerstone, he arrived at the Moselle station in company with Revs. Henry Hussmann of St. Henry’s of St. Louis, Fr. Howeck of St. Francis de Sales, St. Louis, Franz Howeck of St. Mary of Perpetual Help, St. Louis, Peter Wigger of Holy Cross, St. Louis and P. Joseph Wigger of Osage Bend Mo., both being brothers of the pastor and August Von Brunn of Flint Hill, Mo. They were fetched by buggy from the station to St. Mary’s. Hoog performed the blessing at 10:30a.m. Rev. Hussmann, who as pastor of Sullivan had formerly attended to the congregation, preached an eloquent and touching sermon. This being over, the congregation had the annual 4th of July picnic on the knoll opposite the church.
The supplies of cement became exhausted again in August. A fresh supply was ordered and came on August 19th. The very hot summer weather delayed the work somewhat, but it was continued as speedily as was possible. In the middle of September, the joists were laid for the organ loft, and by the middle of the following month, the entire front was completed up to the height of the window. At this time also Messes Anthony Hanneken, Ben Vondera and Peter Kindel drove to Union, Mo. To get bricks for the arching of the windows on the inside. They procured two thousand bricks for the price of $16.00, loaded them on their wagons and brought them to the building. On November 9th the west wall had reached to about a foot above the windows and now the work was transferred to the eastside. The arches had just been completed by Thanksgiving, when winter set in and cut short the further progress for the time being.
On Christmas day, Father Wigger announced that quarrying of stone should be taken up again as soon as possible. The rock gotten from Mrs. Rosa Breitenbach’s farm last, within a hundred paces from the building lot, had proved satisfactory and people went to work on December 27th with a will to quarry all the rock necessary for the completion of the building. As Mr. Ben Hanneken, the carpenter, had just bought the 160 acre Knapp farm and wanted it cleared of timber, the congregation bought from him 112 trees, to be sawed into boards and used for the building of the church. Mr. Schwab came from St. Louis on January 11, 1911 to hew the rock; the weather being exceptionally favorable, he stayed and started with setting stone where he had left off a few weeks before. The west wall was completed on March 29th. The hoisting of the heavy rocks at this height was done by means of a pulley, dragged by a blind mule, which was loaned from Mr. J. Otten. On May 11th, the rosette window was in place in front of the church above the entrance door and on May 16th was completed. This finished the work on the front.
After this, and when the necessary scaffolding was erected, the builder set up the sanctuary arch in brick. On June 22nd, the keystone, 46 feet above the floor, was put in its place. The smokestack, also of brick was the next part to be finished. A proper scaffold having meanwhile been erected, the mason started at the work of repointing the seams. By Saturday, September 2nd, the front wall had been finished. On Monday September 4th, Labor Day, the congregation gave a picnic and the repointing of the rear wall was started on the day following. The entire outside was finished by September 20th.
After this, the carpenters erected the necessary inside scaffolds. None of the men having really learned the carpenter trade, their various ideas of putting on the roof of the church were found impracticable. The trustees finally determined to have the Rev. Pastor ask contractors for bids for the putting up of the roof and for finishing the steeple. Stoner & Lambeth of Villa Ridge, Hull of Moselle, Joe Raaf and Trentmann of Washington were asked to bid for this work. For covering the roof, galvanized shingles were thought to be the best and Fr. Wigger was requested to look around for such.
The four trustees: John Hagedorn, Jacob Gaasch, John Finder and Anthony Hanneken, opened the bids on Saturday, December 24th and awarded the contract for the carpenter work on the roof and steeple to D. Lambeth for $276.00 the other bids running all the way over $400.00. for the galvanized iron shingles and the guttering several bids had been sent. The trustees awarded the work to Mr. Ed Sheerin of Robertsville, as being the best, if not the cheapest. It called for forty-three squares of shingles $376.70 and for guttering $50.00, a total of $417.70. and had been accompanied by samples and a guarantee of the work.
Mr. Lambeth started his work on January 2 1912. The winter’s cold, however became so severe that the work had to stop after the oaken supports had been cut. After a very severe spell of cold during which the thermometer registered as low as 20 degrees below zero, the work was resumed on January 21st. The first truss was set up on January 23rd with the help of six young men of the congregation. The work was again interrupted by a very severe cold spell, moderated early in February, and the next thing done was the finishing of the carpenter work in the steeple. The shingles and guttering having meanwhile arrived, George Otten and Henry Unnerstall started putting same onto the roof of the sacristy.
On March 1st the cross, to crown the steeple was erected in presence of the school children. The oldest inhabitants could not remember a more severe winter than this of 1911-1912. In consequence a heavy snowfall on March 23rd, only eleven people were in church on the following Sunday. Finally carpenters were finished with the roof on April 1st , leaving our own men to put on the shingles and guttering. Mr. Hermann finder gave the top of the steeple a good coating of paint, which he was finished on April 10th, after which the scaffolding could be taken down. The roofing and guttering were finished on April 23rd.
During the summer of 1912, actual work on the church rested. In the fall a concrete pavement was laid in front of the church and the concrete staircase at the entrance made. With gravel and sand hauled from the nearby river and with another 320 bags of cement bought in St. Louis, concrete walks were finally laid around the entire church. The men who had not executing their donation of five labor days each did now work. In January 1913 Father Wigger bought the storm glass for the windows, which was put in after Mr. H. Hanneken had completed the making of air ventilators.
The Rev. Pastor called a general meeting of the congregation for Sunday, January 26, 1913 to determine if the church, un-plastered and unfinished as it then was should be put into use immediately. Since the resident priest had come to St. Mary’s congregation had wonderfully grown and the old church had become much too small. All but five members agreed that the new church should be used at once.
Contract for furnishing the lumber for flooring was awarded to Mr. James Dalton of Catawissa Mo. He was to get 5000 feet of the best “Star brand” flooring from the South to cost $28.50 per 1000 ft. The flooring came on April 12thand was fetched by members of the congregation from Catawissa. The floor was then laid at once, also the staircase for the choir loft, additional pews and a temporary communion rail made.
On Sunday, April 27th, 1913 the Rev. Pastor gave the church the blessing, the Blessed Sacrament was carried in solemn procession from the old church into the new and the first service held in the new church. Although the new church was not yet plastered the members of the congregation were glad to attend mass and other services in a place of worship where there was room for them all to kneel down.
At the end of May the parochial school closed and the old church was changed into a schoolhouse. The necessary changes were made by Mr. Henry H. Hanneken, a new galvanized iron roof was put on the building, as the old shingles would no longer hold the water and the inside of the building was protected against wind and weather.
Mr. Henry Hanneken and his wife, living in Moselle town, had given the Rev. Pastor $200.00 for another bess; the old bell having done service since 1880. The McShane Company of Baltimore which had furnished the old bell agreed to furnish a new one of 550 lbs., with stand, for $218.00, which offer was accepted. The new bell arrived on September 13, 1913 and was very much admired by all that saw it standing aside the church. It is inscribed as follow: “Through my voice dear man lift up to God your heart and mind.”
The Rev. Pastor bought, during the fall, two new furnaces in St. Louis to heat the church and the school. They were made by the Haynew-Langenberg Front Rank Furnace Co. and cost $300.00 delivered at Moselle station, and $18.00 for setting them up. The Most Rev. Archbishop came on October 27th to bless the new bell and to give confirmation. The weather was very unfavorable at this time and there were only forty young men on horseback to receive him and bring him from Moselle to St. Mary’s.
The congregation was in debt to the amount of $3,000, and it was thought best not to go to the expense of finishing the interior until this debt was wiped out. The Rev. Pastor undertook, in the beginning of May 1914, a trip to Germany, but with the war breaking out, he came back on August 25th. Again as before the congregation gave him a purse on his return and Father Wigger turned same over to the fund for paying off the debt. A collection to buy new desks for the school resulted in $34.50. Fifteen whole and three small rear desks were bought at a cash outlay of $50.95, the balance being made up by the young people and by giving a box supper.
A lady in St. Louis had given Father Peter Wigger, brother of our pastor, $6,000.00 to pay for a new marble high altar in Holy Cross Chruch. Rev. P. Wigger offered to let St. Mary’s near Moselle have their old, but really beautiful high altar, made of wood, for the nominal sum of $200.00. This offer was gladly accepted.
But what should they do with a fine altar in a church not yet plastered? It would be entirely out of place. After long consideration with the trustees, the Rev. Pastor thought it best to have at least the sanctuary plastered, and more so since the debt of $3000.00 had been reduced to $2,250.00 and the plastering of the sanctuary would hardly exceed a cash outlay of $300.00
No plasterer able to do this work could be found in the surrounding country. However, Father Wigger went to St. Louis and prevailed on an art-plasterer, Mr. George Grosch, a yound member of his brother’s parish in Baden to come to Moselle with an assistant and do the work on the sanctuary of the new church. The two St. Louis plasterers came on October 6 1915 and instructed the native mechanics how to help them by lathing, preparing the material. They finished the arch in seven days time. While their wages and railroad fare would have amounted to over $75.00, they only charged $45.00. Mr. Ben Atkinson and his men did the rough plastering. After they had finished same Mr. Grosch and his assistant came again for a couple of days to put on the finishing touch. The entire cost for plastering the sanctuary amounted to $274.05. When the members saw the sanctuary finished, they were very glad and expressed their opinion that St. Mary’s when complete, would be the finest church in Franklin County.
March 1916 the altar for St. Mary’s arrived at the railway station and was brought to the church on ten wagons. It was set up at once and the Blessed Sacrament placed in its tabernacle on Sunday, March 26th, the celebration being made very solemn.
The Easter collections for the years 1912 – 1916 were as follows:
Year Envelope Basket Total
1912 50.70 5.10 55.80
1913 46.10 5.85 51.95
1914 49.25 5.85 55.10
1915 58.20 5.85 64.05
1916 53.25 3.85 57.10
In 1916 the Rev. Pastor had the entire rectory painted at an expense of $80.75 and donated the Easter collection of 1916 and 1917 for this purspose.
In September 1916 school was opened with an enrollment of fifty-five children which were rather too many for one teacher. A room was fitted up in the teacher’s residence for the little one and a young lady of the congregation, Miss Anna Finder, employed at a salary of $10.00 per month to teach the lowest grade. As the children in the improvised schoolroom had been rather uncomfortable during the cold of the winter, Mr. Frank Espowe, with the permission of the Rev. Pastor, fitted during the following summer vacation the schoolhouse (the old church) into two rooms. Other members of the congregation gladly helped in this work. Miss Rosa Castrop of Westphalia and Miss Anna Finder opened the school on September 3, 1917.
The following winter was again a very cold one and it was impossible to heat the unplastered church properly. This, and the fact that the debt of the congregation had been reduced to $1235.00 gave the impetus to have the inside of the building finished.
A building committee was selected, consisting of Messrs. John Finder, Jacob Gaasch, Bernard Hanneken, Henry August Hanneken, Bernard Lenak, David Overschmidt and Adolph Unnerstall. Again the men and young men of the congregation agreed to donate at least four days labor each. Thus, only the material and the work of the master plasterers had to be paid for in cash. Messrs. George Grosch and Robert Wilhelm of St. Louis who had plastered the sanctuary and so generously acted in remitting more of their wages, did the arching and Ben Atkinson and George Hobelmann the straight work.
On June 2, 1918 everthing was completed and the scaffold removed and the church showed its natural beautiful interior. The total expense amounted to about $1,240.00. All of this was paid within a short space of time by the sale of the used lumber, and several entertainments and by a special collection which the Rev. Pastor contributed $67.25.
Nothing of importance happened during the year 1919 except that the three families, Henry Finder, Jacob Gaasch and Anna Lindemann each donated one of the stained glass windows. During 1920 new pews were set up in the church and a way of the cross (stations) purchased from the Dubuque Altar Mfg. Co.
The married and unmarried women of the congregation, with the approval of the Rev. Pastor, started an altar society to furnish the necessary linen and the servers cassocks for the church. Mrs. Jacob Gaasch was elected the first president and Mrs. Henry Lindemann secretary. The trustees for 1924 were Messrs. Ben Hanneken, David Overschmidt, Henry August Hanneken and George Otten.
Miss Rosalie Bechtold taught the parochial school from 1912 to 1917; Miss Rosa Castrup taught from 1917- 1918; Miss Julie Sknoria from 1918 to 1923.
On June 10, 1924, the Rev. Pastor Father Wigger celebrated the Silver Jubilee of his ordination. The entire congregation took part in it, and besides many personal gifts he received a purse of $69.25 from the members of the congregation.
At the request of his brother, Rev. Peter Wigger, who became very ill, the Most Reverend Archbishop appointed Rev. Anton Wigger coadjutor pastor of Holy Cross congregation at Baden Station, North St. Louis in the early part of 1925. For several months Father Wigger arranged with the Redemptorist Fathers at Kirkwood to say the Sunday Masses. Father Wigger attended the congregation for the last time on the occasion of First Holy Communion on the first Sunday of May 1925. Rev. Doctor H. P. Schumann of St. John’s Gildehaus and Rev. Tom J. Walsh of Catawissa then attended on Sundays as well as on sick calls and funerals for the parish.
End of Chapter ll
Chapter 2 / Father Wigger Years
Chapter 3 / 8th Grade School
On June 10, 1925 Rev. E.J. Blankemeier, who had been station at Arcadia as assistant for the past ten years, was appointed by Archbishop Glennon to take charge of St. Mary's Parish. The new pastor left Arcadia on July 1st and went to Moselle for the first time on July 3, 1925.
In the absence of a pastor, the congregation had arranged a picnic for July 4th. During the last weeks of Father Wigger's residence in Moselle, the congregation had decided to build a hall for entertainment and dances. Scarcely had the work begun when Father Wigger left. The men were determined to finish this work, and as had been the custom before, willingly donated their time. While the hall was not a thing of beauty, it was large and convenient and quite inexpensive. It was completed, at least so it could be used in time for the Fourth of July picnic. The hall is situated west of the priests' residence and has a basement used as a dining room, and the floor above measures about 30x50.
The picnic netted about $400.00 and since that was about the amount of indebtedness on the church, it was suggested that the debt should be cancelled and then it could be truly said that before Father Wigger's successor came, the fine stone church was completely paid for.
The trustees, at their first meeting with the new pastor, were continued in office. Upon their suggestions it was decided to have two Masses on Sunday and Holy Days. This arrangement made it possible for members to assist at mass and also to receive Holy Communion more frequently.
Early in 1926 a meeting of the parish was called to discuss the advisability of procuring their school as the foundation of all religious life, and had engaged a teacher and conducted a Catholic school even before any independent mission. The majority favored the procuring of teaching Sisters and those who opposed did so, not because of objection to the Sisters, but because they feared the expense of having to provide a home for them. Archbishop Glennon, in a special letter, urged all to make any sacrifice to procure Sisters.
Mother Ambrose, Superior of the Ursulines at St. Louis, had been invited to come out and look at the place. She visited St. Mary's in company of Mother Honora, the Prefect, in November 1925, and promised to send two teachers and a lay sister as soon as the congregation would make ready for them. It was agreed to turn over the priest's house to the Sisters' and build a new 'priest's house'. The location of the house was between the church and the present house but back, so that the front of the house would be on a line with the sacristy of the church. Work on this new house was begun in the summer of 1926. During the spring a census had been made of the parish and subscription taken for the new building. A sum of nearly $1,000.00 was promised, some of which was paid for immediately. A number of families pledged to pay $50.00 in two annual installments and the rest pledged $25.00
Miss Antoinette Sankey had not been engaged to teach in September as the Sisters were expected. They arrived on September 10, 1926 and were ready to open school the following week. Heretofore, only five grades had been taught. With the two Sisters, all eight grades were included and people were urged to keep their children in school until they finished. The school was opened by Mother Henrietta as Superior who taught the lower grades, Sister Ruth, who taught the higher grades and was organist, and Sister Pulcheria, the housekeeper. The enrollment during the first week showed a gratifying increase. From about forty pupils in June 1926 the number rose to over seventy - practically every child of school age in the parish was enrolled. This showed beyond a doubt the sterling Catholicity among the people of St. Mary's Parish.
During the late July and August, men of the parish worked on razing the stable, which was of no further use and stood partly in the way of the new building. They also wrecked the old building across the road, which had been in turn a teacher's house, temporary priest's house, school and hall. The lumber of these two buildings was used as much as possible in the new building.
When the Sisters came in September 1926, the priest's house was hardly begun, so the Pastor took up his quarters in the east Sacristy where he lived for almost two years. The building of the new house was delayed for months. Each man of the parish had pledged to give six days work and in many cases the parish had to wait until work on farms was not so heavy. The work that required skilled labor had to await the coming of men who promised to do the work in their line whenever they could get away. Most of the material, too, was either donated or bought at cost. The result of all this was that the building, easily worth $10,000, was completed for $3,000 of which $1,000 was paid by the parishioners and $2,000 was borrowed from Mrs. J.C. Kanouse. The work was begun in late July 1926 and the house was completed by the first of July 1928.
As a matter of record, as well as a token of appreciation, the names of the donors of material and skilled labor are herewith subjoined. During the greater part of these two years, Mr. Louis Dusard of Kirkwood was ever faithful. Even before there was though of building, Mr. Dusard volunteered to assist in such was as he might. During the summer of 1926, he painted the priest's house, which was given over to the Sisters. Earlier than that, during the winter of 1925, he stained and varnished all the floors.
The James Kelly family of Kirkwood made themselves most useful on many occasions. They did all of the plumbing. Michael, Joseph, and Lawrence assisted Maurice McDonald. William Kelly did all of the stucco work and was assisted in this by Ben Atkinson of St. Clair. In addition to this, Daniel Kelly donated a toilet and Lawrence was instrumental in getting a manufacturer to donate a lavatory.
John Gilmore of St. Louis gave a bathtub as a Christmas gift in 1927, and William Daly of Kirkwood donated the kitchen sink, at the same time. All tin work was sold at cost by Otto Roebber of Kansas City, and uncle of the Pastor, and was installed by Edward Durand of Kirkwood, who also made several other trips out to help friends who were working on the building. The parish is indebted to Mr. George F. Robertson and his fine band of plasterers for all the interior plastering.
Mr. Ralph Newton of Kirkwood donated the tile for floor and walls of the bathroom and four Italian workers of the Terrazo Company, Inc. of St. Louis made installation. The tile roof, worth several hundred dollars, was sold by Mr. Joseph Masterson of the Mound City Roofing Tile Company for $100.00 and was installed by Mr. Joseph Rieger of Kirkwood, who charged $30.00 for his work and spent $50.00 at a picnic on July 4, 1927 at the time he was working.
Two local men, Ben Hanneken and Henry Unnerstall, did the rough carpenter work and the finishing was donated by Kirkwood carpenters, led by Frank Baumstarck. The others who worked at carpentering were George Riefer, who later installed the screens gratis, Henry Hoerstkamp, Gregory Miller, John Lederle. Through the kindness of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Boothe, a lotto was held at Wellson January 2, 1928 from which sufficient funds were realized to purchase a Mellow hot air furnace, which was installed very painstakingly by Mr. John Donahue of Kirkwood. Interior and exterior painted was done by Will Ferde, Walter Wahlig and A.H. Boos, all of Kirkwood - and in this, as in so many other things the never failing efforts of Louis Dusard helped immeasurable.
The concrete floor in the basement was the work of Mr. Ed. Hamilton and Mr. Ed Wagner, while Charles Groene did the brickwork for a nominal sum. A boy of the parish, Ed. Unnerstall, very neatly installed the electrical work. The hardwood floors were a donation for Mrs. J.C. Kanouse. They were laid by Henry Unnerstall at forty cents an hour, scraped by Ralph Bullard for $50.00 and finished by Louis Dusard, gratis. Through the courtesy of Mr. J.C. Jacobs of Union, a concrete mixer was used for all the concrete work.
After the building was completed donations of friends in Kirkwood helped to furnish it. Mrs. Kanouse, the housekeeper, had sold many articles of furniture for a nominal sum to the Parish. The now aging, Henry Vondera dug a new cistern at the back of the house. Again, rock was struck within a few feet of the surface and much blasting was necessary.
The completed priest's house has a full basement with an extra, all-concrete wine cellar. A garage enters from the rear of the basement. There is a long double deck porch at the rear, affording a wonderful view of the surrounding country. On the first floor, as one enters, is a sun room, used as an office, a library with large fireplace, a dining room, kitchen, two bedrooms and bath. Upstairs are the housekeeper's quarters and two spare rooms.
Mr. Dan Mullen of Clayton was the architect. He donated the plans, which were a reproduction of the house of Mrs. M. Dusard of Kirkwood. Naturally, work on this building occupied most of the activities of the two years 1926-1928. But there were other activities.
Eleven stained glass windows were necessary to complete that part of the interior decoration. Those in the sanctuary which were donated by Mrs. Kanouse were "the scared Heart" and by Henry Henneken (teacher) "Our lady of Perpetual Help". The Sodalities donated the two smaller windows that bear their names. The other windows were donated as follows: F. Frick, Matt. Vondera, David Overschmidt, George Otten, Henry Hanneken (Moselle), Mrs. Emi Frei and Rev. E.J. Blankmeier. Louis Dusard donated installation. The work was completed during the summer of 1927.
At about this time linoleum was laid in the aisles and the statue of the Sorrowful Mother was repainted - the former paid for by the parish and the latter by Miss Catherine Dusard.
It was unfortunate for St. Mary's that the concrete highway #66 was located so as to cross the Bourbeuse River at Pin Oak Ford in place of, as it was hoped, at Shawneetown Ford. The latter crossing would have insured the road passing directly in front of St. Mary's and would have brought not a few visitors. As it is, when the highway was opened in the spring of 1927, all traffic over the old Springfield road ceased and even some families moved away.
Though small, parish activities did not diminish. It was thought that with the completion of the new hall, many little affairs could be held through out the winter, but it was soon found that these were unsuccessful because of bad roads, bad weather, lack of heat in the hall and activities in other places easier of access.
But in the summer, St. Mary's came into her own with picnics. The greatest credit must be given to the ladies who, at these picnics, served the finest kind of dinners, donated all the food and did all the work. In 1925 two picnics were held, July 4th and Labor Day. In 1926 it was decided to add Decoration Day as picnic day in addition to the other two. In 1927 it was thought advisable to again hold only two picnics, the first on July 4th and the other on Labor Day. But in 1928 it was found necessary to again hold three, the Pastor promising to devote the proceeds of one to the school.
From a religious point of view, which is of the course the most important, the Parish was progressing. Since July 1925, two Masses were said every Sunday and Holy Day and were well attended. The High mass was at nine o'clock in the summer and at ten in the winter followed by Benediction. The Sodalities received Holy Communion each month, the young people on the First Sunday and married Sodalities on the second. The children received in a body twice a month, on the First Sunday and on the third Sunday.
Solemn Communion at the end of the school course, in addition to the First Communion, was abolished because of mistaken notions. The little children's First Communion was made quite solemn each year toward the end of May. A three-day retreat preceded the beautiful First Communion Day.
The Feast of Corpus Christi was celebrated solemnly since the establishment of the Parish. A procession on the Parish grounds was held and from 1926-1928, the Grus Brothers generously volunteered to play hymns during the procession. In 1925 the Sacred Heart League was established and its membership numbered over one hundred. Ten promoters regularly distributed the leaflets and many of the members received Holy Communion on the First Friday.
The Feast of Christ the King, established in 1925 and celebrated on the last Sunday in October, was reestablished as the Parish's Thirteen Hours Devotion day. At the closing, each year, five or six priests of the neighborhood were present. In 1925 Reverend J.G. Hoelting preached the closing sermon, in 1926 Rev. Doctor Schuermann, and in 1927 Rev. Geo. Fugel. For the feast of Christ the King, the Sisters of the Precious Blood of O'Fallon bought a beautiful new Gothic vestment.
The last week of October 1925 was a time of special grace, when Rev. Jos. G. Hoelting of the Diocesan Mission Band gave a very successful mission. The Parish turned out in a body both for morning Mass and evening services. The great Communion days for the Parish werethe Feast of Christ the King, All Souls, Christmas and Easter. The Holy Hour on Holy Thursday evening, too, was well attended.
It has been established some years ago that a Board of School Trustees, consisting of three men of the Parish, should take over the financial aspect of this branch of Parish activities. These trustees have the duty of collecting tuition from the pupils in school, of arranging any entertainment to be given for the benefit of the school, and of seeing to its that the teachers' salaries are paid and the school buildings properly kept up.
Every summer the parish elects a new member to this school board to take the place of the one that has served three years and is, therefore, freed from further duty in this regard. In 1925 the School Trustees were Frank Vondera, Fred Breitenback and Henry Lindemann. In 1926, Will Brinkman succeeded Frank Vondera and in 1927 Mike Eagen was elected to fill the place of F. Breitenbach.
The old school building was, year by year, becoming less adequate and serious thought and great effort was to be put forth in the building of a new school. With this in mind, an arrangement was inaugurated in January 1926 whereby each family was expected to give twenty-five cents every Sunday, which was to be invested monthly in shared with the Kirkwood Building and Loan Association. The response was at first quite generous, but with the building of a new rectory and other parish activities, and also because of bad farming seasons, many found it necessary to either curtail or cease to donate to this necessary cause. Through successful picnics and other means, the payments of $30.00 per month) were continued.
Another committee, appointed during the winter of 1926, proved most successful. The wood committee, composed of D.J. Overschmidt, as Chairman, Jacob Gaasch, and Ben Lindemann. It was the office of this committee to see that all parish buildings were amply supplied with wood. Each winter certain days were appointed by the Pastor and designated as wood cutting days. Every man in the parish was expected to work on two such days. The wood on parish property had been getting scarce and for the winters of 1927-27 and 1927-28, wood was cut in abundance on the property of Peter Kindel, who donated it to the church.
During the three years, 1925-28, the parish church was the scene of joyful occasions as well as those of sorrow. In May 1926, Mr. & Mrs. Jacob Gaasch celebrated their silver anniversary. A High Mass was sung for them and the jubilee blessing given. At this Mass, all of their ten children were present. It was indeed a sight of joy to see Mother and Father, who were themselves always outstanding members, in the best sense, of the parish, and true Catholics, surrounded on this occasion by their ten faithful children. At the time of the jubilee, all the children were yet unmarried. In the month that followed, however, three of them, Alvina, Henry and Gertrude took life partners unto themselves.
In May 1927, Mr. & Mrs. George Otten celebrated their silver anniversary. Again a High Mass was sung and the jubilee blessing given. A day of rejoicing was held at the Otten home and these worthy couple, though childless, had adopted the entire parish as their own and were surrounded by a host of friends who rejoiced with them.
Among the sorrowful scenes of 1925 - 1928 was the speedy passing of Mrs. George Overschmidt from this life in November 1925. Much sorrow had been hers in rearing a large family, some of whom had sadly afflicted. In July 1926, Bernard Lenau, gentle and faithful to his family was laid to rest. In May 1927 Mrs. Anna Nebur, died after an illness of several weeks, and in the spring of 1928 Anna Lindemann the oldest resident of the parish passed away. All were buried after fitting funeral services in the parish cemetery.
The Church trustees remained the same during 1925 -1928, Bernard Hanneken, David Overschmidt, Henry A. Hanneken and George Otten. In 1928 Mr. Otten sold his farm and moved to St. Clair and it was necessary to select a trustee in his place. The Pastor proposed three names, and Mr. Ben Lindemann was selected at a special election.
The priest at the time felt that in losing Mr. & Mrs. George Otten, the parish lost on of its best families. He said, "There has never been a time where Mr. & Mrs. Otten have not shown interest in the affairs of St. Mary's. They have been untiring in their work and most generous to church, school, priest, and sisters."
The new rectory was ready for occupancy after two years, but the builder, Fr. Blankemeier was not destined to dwell in it. Rev. L.C. Wernert of Arcadia had suffered a stroke of apoplexy in December 1927, and being unfit for further duty, requested His Grace Archbishop Glennon to appoint Rev. E.J. Blankemeier in his place. The appointment was made and the transfer effected June 30, 1928. Rev. E.J. Meier, who had studied in Innsbruck and was ordained in 1912, had been assistant at St. peters in Kirkwood, was appointed to St. Mary's Moselle. The parting, on the part of the people of Kirkwood with their friend and advisor, was hard and many a tear fell from the eyes of his numerous friends as Father Meier bad them farewell at a special meeting.
Father Meier took up residence in St. Mary's parish immediately and shouldered with a brave heart the many tasks that awaited him in his new field of labor. Fr. Meier remained as pastor of the parish until June 1936. During this period of time, Fr. Meier made many repairs and improvements on the buildings and property and continued to raise funds on the parish rectory. Fr. Meier continued very zealously his spiritual work and was able to realize the result of his labors during his eight years stay in the parish. In June 1936 Fr. Meier received a letter from Most Rev. Archbishop John J. Glennon, appointing him pastor of the Sacred Heart Church in Valley Park, Mo. Fr. Meier was relieved of his parochial duties of St. Mary's Parish by Rev. Jerome P. Schutzbach, whom he recommended to the parishioner and his friends.
In June 1936 Fr. Schutzbach left Sacred Herat Parish, Festus, Mo. as assistant pastor, to begin his new duties as Pastor of St. Mary's parish, Moselle. Fr. Schutzbach immediately picked up where Fr. Meier left off and endeavored to have the parish push forward. He continued for many years to increase the parish treasury for the purpose of future improvements; at the same time making the necessary repairs and improvements as he found the need in the parish. In 1945, it was decided that the present parish hall was inadequate and in a most improper location next to the sisters convent; so it was dismantled and moved to a suitable location, in the picnic grove, where it was rebuilt, enlarged and beautified with a covering of asbestos shingles. On May 2, 1947 Father Schutzbach received word from the new Archbishop, the Most Rev. Joseph E. Ritter, informing him that the Ursuline Sisters asked permission to withdraw from the parish school stating that the sisters think that the children can be transported to a neighboring school with much less expense and with greater profit to the children. They also suggested a lay teacher. In view of the fact that there were so few children and that the sisters were needed so badly, the Archbishop said he felt that he should give consideration to their request. However, he asked an expression from Fr. Schutzbach. On May 5, 1947 Fr. Schutzbach received the following letter from the Archbishop.
"Dear Fr. Schutzbach: Just a word to inform you that I have asked Mother Provincial to retain the Sisters at St. Mary's at least for another year. Perhaps during this time we can come to a decision as to what to do in regard to the advisability of retaining the school and erecting a new combination building as proposed."
On May 14, 1947 the following letter was received from the Archbishop.
"Dear Father Schutzbach" I have word this morning from the Provincial of the Ursulines that the Sisters will remain another year at Moselle. In the meantime, I hope you will help me come to a decision as to what we should do in regard to a new school and convent. After saving the considerable amount on hand, it would seem a pity not to be able to carry out the wishes of the people and provide them with a modern school building."
In June, Fr. Schutzbach called upon the Archbishop at the Chancery Office and succeeded in postponing the erection of a new school for the present time.
On September 11, 1947 Fr. Schutzbach received a letter of appointment, from the Archbishop Ritter, to the Pastorate of St. Bernard's Church, St. Louis. This time St. Mary's Parish was receiving as Pastor Rev. Wm. B. McCarthy, who had been pastor of our Lady of Victory Church, Sereno, Mo. He also had charge of the mission church at Lithium, Mo. for fine and one half years and previously assistant pastor of Our Lady of the Presentation Parish, St. John's Station, St. Louis County for fifteen years. On September 20th a committee presented Father Schutzbach with an offering of appreciation from the parishoners, for the eleven years that he spent as their pastor.
End of Chapter lll
Chapter 4 / Father McCarthy
On September 11, 1947 Fr. Wm. B. McCarthy at Sereno, MO. likewise received a letter of appointment from Archbishop, as the new pastor of St. Mary's where he stated: "St. Mary's Parish, as you know, is a small parish but there are possibilities there, and I am confident that you will continue your fine priestly work for the good people at that parish. A school must be built, and Fr. Schutzbach has already on hand some funds towards this project. I would ask you to undertake this at once, as I know that when you see the present school building you will understand how imperative it is that a more suitable building be erected immediately."
On September 23, Fr. Schutzbach departed St. Mary's parish and left behind him any friends with a lasting memory of what he had done for them. The same day Fr. McCarthy arrived at his new pastors and assumed his newly appointed duties. On Sunday, October 5, 1947 the parish was having its "Thirteen Hours Adoration", and at the closing of the Adoration, Fr. McCarthy was canonically installed as the new pastor of St. Mary's by the Rt. Rev. Msgr. Geor. J. Hildner, the Dean of the Washington Deanery and the pastor of St. John's at Gildehaus, Mo.
One day in the middle of the month of October, Fr. McCarthy called upon the Archbishop for instructions pertaining to the erection of the new school. He was told to try and start building in the spring or early summer of 1948. He was also asked to visit Mother Provincial and try to prevail upon her to allow the Ursuline Sisters to remain. This was done after about two months, but the Rev. Pastor was refused and informed that the sisters would leave permanently in June of 1948. The Archbishop being so informed, requested Fr. McCarthy to seek the Sisters of the Most Precious Blood at O'Fallon, Mo., for his teaching staff. This was done but the pastor was informed that it would be impossible for them to take St. Mary's. The pastor then sought the aid of the Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word from Normandy, Mo., again he was faced with another refusal. Under such circumstances, the pastor went again to see the Archbishop and presented his difficulties. The Archbishop stated that he would write the Rev. Mother of the Precious Blood Sisters in O'Fallon, Mo. (letter pertaining to this follows later).
During the first weeks of January 1948, Fr. McCarthy began to think seriously along the lines of erection of new school building and the remodeling of the convent. The drew a sketch of the school which he desired to be attached to the convent building. The new and old building he intended to cover with "Perma-Stone" to match the Church edifice.
After drawing this sketch he asked Mr. John Gutmann, a contractor, to call upon him to discuss the possible building. Mr. Gutmann came to see the pastor bringing along with him Mr. Arthur B. Stauder an architect. After the conference it was decided that Mr. Stauder take the sketch, drawn by Fr. McCarthy to obtain the proper dimensions of the convent building and the intended new school building, and draw up a sketch and a set of blue prints. Within a few weeks the architect submitted his blue prints and the contractor Mr. Gutmann, submitted his bid $32,400 (excluding electrical work and excavation, etc.)
On Sunday afternoon February 14, 1948 at 3:30pm a parish meeting was held in the parish hall. Before a large attendance the blue prints were submitted and after scrutinizing the plans and discussing the price of the building these blue prints were likewise submitted to Archbishop Ritter on Feb. 10, 1948. On Feb. 21, 1948 Fr. McCarthy received from the Archbishop the following consent: "I have checked over the plans which you have submitted for addition to your school, and I hereby, authorize you to proceed with the erection of this much needed building."
On March 18th the contractor's son Jack Gutmann and Eugene Sydner surveyed the plotted ground adjoining the convent. Two day later the men of the parish assembled and dug out the form of the foundation.
On March 25th, Shepherd Brothers (well drillers) brought their equipment and set in place for the drill of the deep well, which was to supply the water for the school, convent and priest-house. A few days later the drilling was started and completed April 2nd, a depth of two hundred forty-five feet. On May 22nd, after they hooked up tot he well. The well pipe was donated to Fr. McCarthy by his friends Mr. & Mrs. Ed Powers from Clayton, Mo. Mr. Edw. Unnerstall, a man of the parish, donated the pump.
On March 30th, Clem Straatmann from St. John's Parish started his shovel in the digging out the entire basement for the foundation and finished in a few days. Men of the parish did the finishing work necessary before the concrete could be laid. On April 12th Daly Concrete Company started the concrete foundation and finish April 29th as the carpenters had the structure up to the roof on May 7th.
The "old school" building which consisted of a two-room frame structure was torn down from May 7th to May 22nd. The electrical wiring was installed in the new school building in time donated by Wm Eckelkamp. The convent was rewire in time donated by Edw. Unnerstall and his young son Paul.
The new school building and remodeling of the convent was completed the first part of August. The convent was thoroughly cleaned by the men and women of the parish and refurbished by August 23rd. The entire edifice was completed in five and one-half months.
The complete cost of the building amounted to $40.904.97. The reason for the higher cost was that it did not include the architects fee, the building of concrete retaining wall against the convent wall, the deep-well, the wiring equipment and electrical fixtures of both buildings, the new floors in the convent, the desks for the school and new furniture for the convent, nor the papering of the entire convent.
On June 22nd Fr. McCarthy received word from the Archbishop: "I have definite word this morning from Superior General of the Sisters of the Most Precious Blood of O'Fallon, that the Sisters will take the school beginning this September." On July 12th the pastor received the following word from Mother M. Borgia: "His Excellency, our Most Rev. Archbishop, has no doubt informed you that we shall be able to staff your school for you in September." The Sisters: Sr. Alphonse, Sr. Serapia and Sr. Hermine arrived at St. Mary's on August 26th. On September 3rd, the Archbishop wrote the Pastor that "He would be delighted to dedicate the new school on Sunday afternoon, September 12, at 3:00pm." September 7th school opened with an enrollment of twenty-three children. The dedication of the new St. Mary's School and Convent took place Sunday September 12, at 3pm with the closing of Solemn Benediction.
The Archbishop, in delivering his talk to the people, complimented them on the progress made in the parish within the past year, under the leadership of their new pastor. He also brought before their minds the accomplishments of the parish under their previous pastor reminding them that they now have something to be proud of and to remain within the confines of the parish, take care of it and enjoy it.
After services, the ladies of the parish served dinner in the parish hall to the Archbishop and the visiting priests. At the head of the table before the Archbishop was setting a large cake decorated with a cross and American flag, with the inscription "St. Mary's School dedicated to God and Country". After the dinner the cake was presented as a personal gift to His Excellency, in the name of the parish. Those present at the dinner were: Most Rev. Joseph E. Ritter, Rt. Rev. Geo. J. Hildner, Very Rev. Chas, H. Helmsing, Rev. Jno. J. Fisher, Rev. Francis O'Donnell, Rev. Jno. H. Hyland, Rev. Berisimo Scheffer, Rev. Jno. L. Brennan, Rev. Al. J. Marschner, Rev. Dacian Bienek, O.F.M. and Rev. Wm. B. McCarthy, Pastor.
The officers at Benediction were: Most Rev. Joseph E. Ritter, Celebrant, Rev. John J. Hyland, Deacon, Rev. Al J. Marschner, Sub-Deacon, Very Rev. Chas, H. Helmsing, Master of Ceremonies.
The Rural Life Conference donated a school bus to the parish, which arrived September 25th and started its first run to pick up the school children on Wednesday september 29th. The chauffeur of the bus was Mr. Henry L. Vondera. He is a most efficient driver, careful, cheerful and one can set their clock by his daily schedule. The bus was a Chevy panel truck with sliding windows. It was red with "St. Mary's" in silver lettering. Mr. Ed Mesplay was the driver after Mr. Vondrea quit.
In addition to this new and beautiful school, many other improvements have been made both in the buildings and on the grounds around them to help beautify the property.
Father McCarthy has received many monetary donations and gifts from his friends among them a beautiful statue of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, which is in the church and two statues, of St. Aloysius and St. Anthony, which are in the school chapel. The school chapel was also made both beautiful and comfortable by five sturdy oak pews. These most gnerous gifts were given by Rev. Jno.J. Fisher, Pastor of Our Lady of the Presentation Parish, St. John's Station.
On February 20, 1949, Mr. & Mrs. Ben Eckelkamp donated a beautiful statue of The Infant of Prague and their daughter, Delores, donated a statue of St. Theresa (The Little Flower) to be used in the school chapel.
Two of the young men, who gave their lives in the service of their country, were brought back to St. Mary's for buriel:
Victor Kindel - September 11, 1948
Louis W. Hanneken - December 11, 1948
The people of St. Mary's Parish felt the loss of two men who have been among them for many years and who have donated much time and money towards making this parish the nice parish it is today.
John H. Hanneken - April 2, 1948
Jake Gaasch - January 30, 1949
The Baptismal Font, which was given by Rev. John J. Fisher, Pastor from Presentation Church on April 26, 1949, was repainted and marbleized by Fr McCarthy on April 29 and 30, 1949.
Mr. Wilmering, of Pacific, Mo. painted the exterior of the church in August 1949. He put two coats on both the roof and building, at a cost of $459.70
Rev. J.J. Fisher also gave electrical fixtures for the church, when the new Presentation Church was built in August 9, 1949. Mr. Edw Unnerstall installed them. His son, Paul assisted him. The most successful picnic to date was on August 7, 1949. Net proceeds were $3,901.70.
In May 1949 St. Mary's held its first May procession in honor of Mary Our Mother. It was a beautiful and very impressive ceremony and will be an annual event here in the parish, named for Our Blessed mother.
On the Northern side of the parking lot, along side of the church, rock ledges were hidden. These rock ledges were exposed by the world of Fr. McCarthy and his housekeeper, Erline Cottrell (picture at left) forming a natural setting for a shrine. The background being red bud trees, oak, and maples. Mr. Jos. P. McGowern and his father started work on the shrine on Saturday July 14, 1951.
The father, not being able to withstand the heat, was compelled to withdraw from the work. Mr. Hugo Reindl was asked to help with the erection on Saturday July 21 & 28, 1951. The Statue of Our Lady of Grace was made by Kaletta Statuary Co. St. Louis and placed in the Shrine Saturday, September 1, 1951, a statue (smaller size) was placed in the Shrine. This three-foot statue was borrowed from Kaletta. Mr. Jas. P. McGowan donated the statue and all material for the Shrine. The statue cost was $177.00.
The Blessing of the Shrine took place Sunday afternoon at 2:00 p.m. The faithful formed a procession to the Shrine and recited the rosary and litany for the intentions of the benefactors of the Shrine. The housekeeper donated ornamental flower holders in thanksgiving for favors received through the Blessed Mother.
On February 19, 1952, permission was granted by Archbishop Ritter to decorate the interior of St. Mary's Church. Arrangements were made with C.E. Wilmering Painting Co., Pacific, Mo. to do the work. The painters started work on February 26. The Pastor, Rev. Wm. B McCarthy, selected the colors. Light yellow on the ceiling and cream on the sidewall. The trim is light brown and the pillars will be marbleized and the ornamental plaster antique white. The ceiling in the Sanctuary is to be painted a light blue with the same trimming. The Sacristies have been replastered and will be painted the same as the interior of the church. The cost of this job was $1298.00. This amount was raised by a Parish drive. The work was almost complete when Father McCarthy received his letter of appointment to be pastor of the Immaculate Conception Parish, Maplewood, Mo. March 19, 1952.
Fr. McCarthy has left us a monument to his term of office as pastor in the unique shrine of Our Lady in the parking lot, also, the attractive school building. However, Archbishop Ritter assigned him to Immaculate Conception Church in Maplewood of St. Louis County in March 1952. The assistant pastor of St. Andrew's Church in Lemay, Mo., Father Edmund Stolz (brother of Marie (Ed) Unnerstall) arrived here on March 29, 1952 as pastor. Unfortunately, this man, light-heartedness in his younger days, became ill in September 1952. It was a cross he would haev to bear all the rest of his days. During the time of his entry in the hospital, the Benedictine Fathers of Pius X (now at pevely, Mo.) were then living in Labadie, Mo. and helped to staff the parish.
Since Fr. Stolz's health did not improve in time, the Archbishop sent temporarily as an administrator, Father Anthony Talir. This former assistant of St. Peter's Kirkwood took charge here Nov. 7, 1952. One of the first things that he did was to start devotion to Our Lady of Perpetual Help, our parish' official title, and enrolled us in the Confraternity, which is entrusted to the Redemptorist Fathers, on March 24, 1953. On January 6, 1954 he organized the Altar Society, which proved to be the mainstay of the parish.
Although Father Talir remained here only as an administrator all of his six years, he was here when the parish needed him and he, too, has left us memorials of his time. The time had come when the parish had to celebrate its Golden Anniversary.
A High Mass of Thanksgiving occurred on September 18, 1955: Rt. Rev Ernest Blankemeier as celebrant, Rev. Jerome Schultzback as deacon; former pasters, and Fr. A. Talir, as subdeacon. The sermon was preached by Rev. Alph. Westhoff, of St. Peter's Church Kirkwood. Also present was Msgr. Geo. Hildner, the Dean of our area, the former pastors: Fr. E.J. Meier, and Wm. McCarthy, plus Fr. Noelker, Fr. John Hyland and Fr. Oswald, O.F.M.
Thus ended a period of time for the parish, which was one of the realistic idealism demanding sacrifices. A price tag of that time was very low, for the buildings, but the human stones of the parish church were precious. An example of the worth of the buildings set by the insurance commission in 1945 was:
Church - insurable value of building
Rectory - insurable value
Convent - insurable value
After this gold period of time, no other pastor recorded a history of work done. Father Jos. C. O'Brien assumed his duties here May 1960, Father Al. J. Acton June 1963, Father J. P. Lessard June 1969.
Chapter 5 / Church Records
Recapitulation of Records
Pastors Visiting Year
1.J. T. Feltmann 1881-84
2.J. Hennes 1885
3.Msgr. Muehisiepen V.G.
(most famous, #2 priest of chancery)1886
4.F. Gadell 1887-90
5.Henry Hussmann (gave Lindbergh the medal for flight)1891-95
6.Charles Schaefer (most records of 1800's in our books)1896-1904
7.Henry Fabry 1904-05
8.Anton Wigger (first pastor)1905
9.E. J. Blankenmeier 1925
10.Edward Meier 1928
11.J. Schutzbach 1936
12.Wm. McCarthy 1947
13.Edm. Stolz 1952
14.Anth. Talir 1953
15.J. O. O'Brien 1960
16.A. J. Acton 1963
17.J. P. Lessard 1969
18.C. R. Ruff 1976
19.Francis Maytas 1984
20.Lawrence Schieber 1990
21.Richard Coever Martin Mannion, Asst.2002
22.Mark Bozada 2003-Present
First Baptism Recorded
Catherine Welsh - Born 6-29-1881 of John & Marie in Boles Township, Frankllin County - By J. T. Feltmann First Marriage Recorded
Edw. Breitenbach - son of Fred Breitenbach & Rose Otten, daughter of John Otten, by J.L.Gadell on Feb.21, 1897
Note: Early church records are sometimes hard to reconcile. It shows that Father F. Gadell was pastor from 1887-90. The first marriage recorded was performed by J. L. Gadell.
First Death & Burial Recorded
Wm. Hy Hanneken - July 4, 1904 - killed in storm.
55 persons on Oct. 30,1906 by Most Rev. J. J. Glennon
First Record Marriage in New Church
Willam and Augusta Lakebrink - May 1913
Sisters of Precious Blood
Left St. Mary's in 1964 (info by Hattie Gartherfner - housekeeper)
Restoration and Remodeling
On November 25, 1971 the "Washingtonian" newspaper showed the final stages of our organ being repaired, an historical one built by Hans Pfeffer in 1862. Fr. Lessard also replaced the "bath-room tiles" above the main altar with wood paneling about a year later. About two years later he had the church carpeted in golden color.
End of Chapter V
Chapter 6 / Father Ruff
It was during Fr. Lessard's period of time that lightning struck in the sanctuary twice. After reparation, he always wanted to have the Church painted, but got bogged down with some itinerant young man who wanted work. He started on the pews, supposedly painting them. He cost the parish a lot of money; with poor results. It was at this time that Fr. Ruff came (June 1,1976). He was sick the first few weeks and this man made him sicker just watching him waste time and "botch the job". After firing him, the Huesgen and Toben boys put the eight missing pews back in the church, and Father Ruff began to feel better.
On August 15, 1976 a parish assembly was called. Officers elected were: Jim Eckelkamp, President, Clarence Vondera, V.P., Ralph Schroeder, Treasurer, Carolyn Hanneken, Secretary. This board did an excellent job cleaning and repairing. Ralph & Vera Schroeder were Picnic Chairpersons and net almost $8,000.
On May 1,1977 the Holy Name Society ceased to exist. They gave $395.00 to the Cemetery Fund for future masses of deceased members.
On August 15,1977, the next assembly was soon pleased with results that only two officers were replaced, the vice president and the treasurer and also that stability and evolvement of officers would occur. The new members of the board were Gilbert "Dude" Huesgen and Leonard Vogelsang. On September 1,1977 J. Wilmering of Pacific, MO. completed the painting of the church inside and out. This was his third time to paint the church. Everyone was pleased. The tabernacle previously restored to the Main Altar and statues replaced in the front, which had been placed in the rear of the building gave parishioners comfort from a constant complaint.
In the summer of 1977, Fr. Ruff salvaged the remains of communion rails that were in the doorway of the basement of the church, amidst a lot of junk. One could not walk in or out, so much had accumulated. Clarence Vondera, under Fr. Ruff's directions, installed the remains in the gaping hole where the front part of the altar originally had been. Mr. Robt. Schmitz did a fine job of making this a "free-standing" altar, but a silk cloth covered the hole.
After the altar-face below the tabernacle was finished, Fr. Ruff was surprised in reading the parish history that this altar railing to cover the hole was the very railing that he and his brother and sister had made their first holy communion in Holy Family, St. Louis in 1924. It was donated to St. Mary's in 1927.
In June-July of 1977, Ralph Schroeder and Clarence Vondera got twenty men to build, in one day, the Bingo Pavilion, on a former basketball court. October 21, 1977 Len Unnerstall dug up the remains of a huge maple tree in front of the rectory. Shortly after, Bob Buscher laid new sidewalks, and helped Len lay new drainage pipes. Gil Huesgen, the president of the board, thought that this was necessary to eliminate the great amount of water leaking in the rectory and convent. (We still have it as of Feb. 1981).
November 11, 1977 - "Dude" got Scotty's Heating for three buildings. A new motor was necessary for the church. (No more work by Scotty 1980). December 1. 1977 our new "used" lawn tractor $1500.00 thru "Dude" Huesgen. Also in this year, the David Overschmidt family donated the two inside front doors of the church. Marge Eckelkamp nee Overschmidt had her brother-inlaw Justin from St. Louis install them.
In the winter months of 1978, Orvill Boyher and his son paneled the halls and room of the convent to cover the falling plaster. They also lowered the ceilings in the former chapel-classroom and kitchen to control water leaks.
The next big project in the fall of 1978 was the installation of the storm windows all around the convent and school buildings, by the same man, Mr Boyher of Robertsville. This man (son of Orville) moved shortly after to Ft. Leonard Wood area. This was a poor job; disappointing after doing a good job on the paneling.
In the spring of 1979 was very cold. We could not trust the furnaces. Fr. Ruff got estimates from Union Electric and bidders to see how much cheaper electric heat could be than the old oil furnace that Scotty of St. Clair installed and would stall around with the repairs; always trouble. When work got around about this change, an anonymous donator made sure that it would be done correctly and included the air conditioner. The air conditioners in the rectory were bad and costing a lot of money, i.e. the window units. About this same time, Fr. Ruff got a wood stove for $300.00, to implement the furnace. All fuel and utilities were rising dramatically. Mr. Wil Haley and SEverin Appril kept Fr. Ruff supplied with wood.
In the spring of 1980, the hall was painted inside and out, and in the fall the floor was sanded and coated. In September 1980, Mr. Bill H. Johnson, whose health failed was replace by Mr. Jerry Walker of Gildehaus, (Don Unnerstall and John Schmitz's borther-in-law, Don & John being board members). The salary was raised to $225.00 per month.
October 1,1980, Frueh Htg. of Union sent a good man, who corrected the mistakes of the past in church and also repaired the convent furnace. The front plate, which cannot be replaced, almost burned through. It was repaired with an asbestos plate.
October 17, 1980, the first organization meeting was held for the regional High School (of Washington) at St. Clair - for both parishes. The professional fund-drive people asked our Chairman Mike Hannekena nd Len Vogelsang, what they would like to do with money for our parish, over the quota set by the archbishop. They replied, "If possible, our parish desires to open the grade school." The thought that $20,000.00 was three times too high of a goal for us. But once the people saw an opportunity the fund drive was in earnest. All were pleasantly surprised, even the pastor, when $52,700.00 was pledged. That meant theoretically, our parish would have $32,000.00 to use for opening our school.
The Archdiocesan School Office was notified, Msgr. Leibrecht and his staff came immediately. He left the matter in Mr. Geo. Henry's hands, because Msgr. Wold soon retired from office. Feverish activity tried to get all the data possible of cost of repairs to buildings ($22,000.00). "Questionnaires" from the parishioners, actual numbers of student who would do maintenance, utilities; what kind and how many teachers.
Sister Sixtina of the Srs. of St. Francis - St. George, Martyr, in Alton, Illinois offered to send to St. Mary's sisters as far back as 1978 to Fr. Ruff, if we could get the money and if the novices would continued to increase in that order. Mr. Mike Hanneken approached her in December 1980 about this. She sent a written proposal and Msgr. Leibrecht said that it would be necessary for Mother Sixtina and he to get together. By February 2, 1980 the third visit here with out the school board and Mr. Henry, Sister Sixtina and the School Office did not get together. Also, many facts had to be considered in relation to a possible budget; a necessary meeting at the school office.
December 31, 1982 - The School failed to re-open, due to the exhaustive examination for money to finance it. The school office was very cooperative, but it was agreed by all that even if the collections were doubled i.e. envelopes etc. and that if "money-fairs" e.g. picnics were doubled, we would still be $30,000.00 short in maintaining the school. After there wasn't any success with opening our school, Father Ruff didn't give much encouragement.
On Wednesday evening at the Toben's home, Ruth Eckelkamp Toben and Mrs. Carol (James) Eckelkamp took it upon themselves and decided to take a trip to Alton, where the convent was located. They asked Mother Sixtina to consider a summer program. She graciously agreed, and it has been in session for over twenty years, starting with 70 students. This was a great exposure for the children to the nuns and continues at the present time with Racine Lindemann in charge. She should be commended for a wonderful job. (Contributed)
Fortunately, Sister Sixtina of the St. Francis Sisters of Alton, Illinois sent eight sisters to teach our first Vacation Bible School, which was June 7, 1982. It lasted two weeks. Sister Ruth was in charge and every one was happy.
On August 1, 1982, due to the State regulations, our first picnic was held without bingo.
The entrance wall to the Cemetery was built for $2,700.00 on September 30, 1982. Later, on November 30th, the concrete road part was laid; cost $1,800.00. This was aid for by Jerome Eagen by check as part of the will of Mrs. Frances Krewinghaus. She seemed to be related to everyone here. All (relatives or not) called her Aunt Frances, - a great lady.
On October 20, 1982, Ken Riley, secretary of the Parish Board, and Fr. Ruff tried to trace the leaking in the church, school and convent. Ken got Len Unnerstall to finish cutting down the steep slope of the cemetery by the road and also on that same Saturday, Len cut the groove swale to stop our leaks by the school and road. He also put a swale in the parking lot of the church and filled in our old cistern of the church.
Ken Riley and Father Ruff found that the downspouts of the school were choked by tree roots - another big operation - called "TE" excavators. This led to other problems. The toilets were connected to the downspouts. Bids were sought to straighten this out. Toilets would go to a septic tank for rectory, school and convent. There was not one before. Downspouts would be separate. Two cisterns would be filled. Dave Hoven of Pacific was chosen. He did the work for a cost of $2,621,00 - a real bargain. Ken Riley and Dave worked hard for two weeks. The worst flood in the history of the white man interrupted them for two weeks. The work was finished December 21, 1982.
The flood began around December 1, 1982. By December 4th (Saturday), 11:30 p.m., Eula Wamhoff, thehousekeeper, was taken to safety by Herome Heiman and Don Hagedorn through three feet of water. She ended up with found and one-half feet of water inside of her nine-year old house. The bridge was swept away, one hundred yards down stream. One man, Andrew Keaveny (fallen away Catholic) was drowned. Another widow, Jane Ward, who lived by the bridge, escaped but her house ruined. The parishioners were great in trying to salvage what they could for these ladies. The dirt, odor and cold were horrible. Many clubhouses washed away. Two huge lakes formed. One was over Highway 50 and I-44. One could be seen from the rectory porch. Another below the confluence of the Bourbeuse and Meramec Rivers, one could see from the cemetery.
On May 21, 1983 Robert Knight, the son of John and Ellen Knight, was ordained in St. Louis Cathedral. This was the first priest from our parish. He had his "First Mass" at Pacific, where his origins were, and the second Mass here at St. Mary's. His brother, Jeffrey, was ordained in 1986. He was the second priest son of our parish.
The hard freeze of winter came just before Christmas and lasted through January of 1984. The first week the school boiler broke. Fortunately, no one was hurt. Smoke came on our first Sunday School session of the year. We were able to shut if off and dismiss the students. However, the insurance company of the archdiocese up this day has not given us any recompense for the purchase of a new boiler. Yet they promised to take care of it.
On May 1, 1984 St. Joseph the Worker Feast Day, Clarence Vondera and sons Tim, Greg, Chris finished the two side altars of the church. It took seven years of waiting. Until this time, a flimsy wood-panel covered the bathroom tile on the wall. parishioners hated that tile. If there was ever one thing the people loved to see, it was the finished work of Clarence Vondera.
August 12, 1984 was the first Sunday picnic. Formerly these picnics were on a Saturday, but because workers were hard to get and attendance was poor, it was shifted to Sunday. The profits for the year 1983 were actually $4,000.00. In 1984 the net profits were $14,000.00. The day was beautiful and everyone enjoyed himself. There was no bickering, no fights, no drunkenness, or trouble with youngsters as was in the past.
On May 28, 1984 Archbishop J.L. May made his first visit to this parish. It was a beautiful day. He gave a sermon that the pastor thought was the best the archbishop ever gave. Everyone enjoyed his visit. Father Ruff reminded him several times that he would like to stay here till he died. The archbishop only smiled and then commented how much he liked the renovations of the church, everything. But he could not find a place that we could install toilet facilities in or about the church. It was one of those general recommendations of his, but to fulfill it, as he found out, was not always possible.
In 1986 Father Ruff and Father Maytas exchanged jobs, with Ruff going to Old Monroe and Maytas coming to St. Mary's. Father Maytas served at St. Mary's until 1990 when Father Lawrence Schieber was appointed pastor. Father Schieber had been ordained in 1949. He had served two years at Mt. Carmel, in the Baden area of St. Louis, nine years at St. Stephens, fiver years at St. Pius in South St. Louis, nine years at St. Catharine's, ten years at St. Sebastian, fiver years at Scared Heart in Eureka and twelve years at St. Mary's, retiring in June 2002. In addition, fifteen years were spent teaching DuBourg High School from 1951-1965.
End of Chapter Vl
Chapter 7 / Church Bulletin
The following information was taken from visits with Father Ruff, Maytas and Schieber in 2003.
Ken Riley (Digger) passed away on August 10, 2003. When Father Ruff came, there was a snake pit where they had piled some of the old concrete sidewalk that was no longer used. Also, the pipe from the septic tank was close by. Ken Riley helped to get rid of the snakes by putting dirt over the pile of old concrete. Also, when it rained, water would run in the windows into the basement of the school. He put the swela in front of the school. This took the water away from the building and took care of the problem.
Anton Wigger was the architect for the new church. All materials came from the area. Why did they take an interest? Give credit to the people of the area. They were great people--very demanding. St. Clair was eight miles to the south. You could go eight miles to Gildehaus. Archbishop at the time was Archbishop Glennon.
Father Ruff was asked, "What was the best day that you had?" His reply was that he could no think of the best day he had, but the worst were the first two days he was at St. Mary's. "It was very hot and there was no air conditioning. Four parents came the first night with two kids and they wanted to get married. After talking with them I said I could no marry them. The second night the same thing happened. I told them I was sorry that I could not marry them. They were very angry. Both marriages ended in divorce. The kids came back and thanked me for not marrying them."
On his second night at St. Mary's, at two a.m., he felt bad. He couldn't stand it. Will Hailey had a pick up truck. He came and took him to the hospital in Washington. Two people he had previously known always said not to use two certain doctors. They would kill you. He got one of those doctors. After sitting in the basement room at the hospital for two hours doing nothing, things could only go up from there.
Father Ruff spent eight years at St. Mary's. Archbishop May came out to visit with directions to prepare the Reconciliation Room for face-to-face contact. Father Ruff told him that took money. One side of the room had more room than the other, so "I took out the slats and cleaned it out. I put in a curtain and a chair to I could talk to them. He was well pleased." Mrs. Toben reported the chair is still there.
Father Ruff was ordained on December 21, 1946. On the 26th of December he received his letter of appointment to Mr. Carmel. He took his clothing there on a Saturday to Father Galvin's office. He was going to go back home and get some more stuff and he asked Father when he wanted him to come. He said, "Confession starts in 1/2 hour." Father Galvin had an assistant, Father Heil. Father Galvin was a master speaker and a great master of English. I could not put foot in school or the convent. I did nothing except I had first mass every day, confession on Saturday and early mass on Sunday. NO SERMONS. The assistant Heil was German and Galvin was Irish. One Sunday, with Chalice in hand as he was walking to the altar from the sacristy, he stopped and said, "You give the sermon today." "I was in a fog". From that day on, I was prepared.
Father Francis Maytas came to St. Mary's in 1986. He came from Old Monroe, where Father Ruff went. They changed places. Father Maytas was asked, "What was the best day you had at St. Mary's?" "The day I got there, he answered. " I had a school at Old Monroe. Now I had no school to worry about." Father Maytas's home church was Mr. Carmel.
Father Maytas was Father Galvin's helper in the seventh and eighth grade. He said he was rough, but had a heart of gold. He was a disciplinarian, but Father Maytas got along fine with him. He encouraged Father. His sister was his housekeeper and was easy going. Father Maytas was ordained in 1942. He has fond memories of St. Mary's -- "all of it, everyone was very agreeable." While he was there a new addition to the hall was build and the upstairs was remodeled.
In a sit-down interview in August 2003, Father Schieber discussed some of the things he was proud of have been part of and participated in for his twelve year tenure. Religious classes for new or returning Catholics were held twice a year, for a total of 24 opportunities for classes. In 23 of these classes there were attendees from a low of one at a class to a high of on class with 22 participants. During the time Father Schieber was at St. Mary's he mapped every grave in the cemetery and made new map boards, personally marked off each new grave. Each January he would tae part in the "Pro-life March" in Washington D. C. along with the members of St. Mary's Parish.
Father Schieber was asked, "What was the best days you had at St. Mary's?" His reply was, "Celebrating his 50th anniversary of being a priest having been ordained on June 7, 1949 and celebrating his first mass after open heart surgery. He could still reach "The Word of God."
At the end of June 2002, Father Schieber retired as the pastor of St. Mary's. Archbishop Rigalli consolidated St. Bridge's at Pacific, St. James at Catawissa and St. Mary's. Father Richard Coerver who was pastor at St. Bridget's was appointed pastor and Father Marin Mannion, who had been on assignment in Arizona, returned to the St. Louis archdiocese and was appointed to serve as assistant. One of the more noticeable changes was in the weekend mass schedule. previously with three priests for three churches. St. Mary's was able to have a 5 P.M. mass on Saturday and both 8 AM and 10 A.M. mass on Sundays. The new schedule resulted in one Saturday afternoon mass and a 10 AM mass on Sunday.
In January 2003, Father Mannion requested a transfer to St. Louis to be closer to treatment on account of his healthy conditions. Each week a visiting priest borrowed from somewhere in the diocese covered his mass schedule.
At the end of June 2003, Father Coerver was transferred to Krakow, Mo. and Father Mark Bozada was assigned to St. Mary's and St. James with a new mass schedule again taking place. Sunday mass was changed from 10AM to 8 AM and mass on the second and fourth Saturday of each month to be at PM.
On Sunday, August 31, 2003 at the 8:00 am Mass, Bishop Hermann installed Father Mark as the new pastor. On the same day at St. James' 10:00 am Mass the Bishop also presided over Fr. Mark's installation at that parish.
Early in the history of St. Mary's, we read how the altar came from Holy Cross Church in Baden in North St. Louis and how Father Anton Wigger left St. Mary's in 1925 and became the pastor of Holy Cross until his death in 1940.
In a small way, Holy Cross and Mount Carmel both in Baden were to have still more influence on our church. Msgr. Martin Hellreigel succeeded Father Wigger as pastor at Holy Cross in 1940 and served in that capacity for almost 40 years. Father Ruff served as an assistant at Holy Cross in the 1960's. Msgr. Hellreigel, who was known as a great liturgist, also wrote the hymn, "Jesus Christ Our Sovereign King", No. 287 in our song-book and missal. Msgr. Hellreigel was born in German and came to this country at an early age with intentions of working as a priest among the Indian tribes of the western United States. It never happened.
Approximately one mile away from Mt. Carmel. Father Galvin was from Ireland and could best be described as hard-nosed. In interviewing Fathers Ruff, Maytas and Schieber, it was found out that they all had a connection to Father Galvin. Father Maytas attended grade school at Mt. Carmel and served mass for Father Galvin. Both Fathers Ruff and Schieber served their first duties as assistants under the direction of the "stern handed pastor". Carolyn Hanneken, of our parish attended Mt. Carmel as a child and remembers Father Galvin as a strict taskmaster. His sermons had a fiery ring.
The Appurtenances of St. Mary
(Bul 18 Dec. 1977)
Main Altar -- donated by Holy Cross, St. Louis through the brother of first pastor Reverend Peter Wigger, build about 1860. On the right side of Our Lord Jesus Crucified - is St. John the Beloved Apostle. He was approximately 17 years of age at his calling by Jesus; 20 years at the crucifixion; the only apostle who did not flee; special privileges given to him by Jesus, the greatest was at that moment, when Jesus gives His mother to John to keep after his death. On the left side is Mary His Mother, Queen of the Martyrs, predicted to her by Simeon at birth. Next to the crucifix - on our left side (from the pews) St. Agnes. She holds a palm; a sign of victory in her hand. The name means pure in Greek. A beautiful teenager beheaded about 258 a.d. because she refused to deny being a Christian. Tried to force her to marry; then sent to a house of prostitution; then death. Burial in Rome.
The Appurtenances of St. Mary
(Bul. 25 Dec. 1977)
On our right side of crucifix and Mary -- St. Aloysius Gonzaga son of a princely family; father wanted him to be a military hero. At an early age 7 to 9 years felt a strong inclination to God; traveled extensively in court circles, turning from the filthy moral lives about him; learning about the lives of the saints and experiences of the Jesuit missionaries; fought his father for four years as a teenager to join the Society of Jesus in Spain. Renounced his "right of succession." While taking his studies in Rom, a plaque broke out in 1591. He nursed the patients; caught the disease; foretold time of his death. He had a great love for the Blessed Sacrament (Body of Christ); died on the feast day at age 23 years; in 1591.
Lower Center of Altar piece (Reredos) is the most important ornamental - safe called the Tabernacle, which contains the Blessed Sacrament. Above this is a picture of Our Lady of Perpetual Help - a German version, in contrast to the Greek form depicted in the window behind the altar. Two angels (statues) adore beside the tabernacle.
Windows- North (right) Our Lady of Perpetual Help -- at bottom "our Lady of Perpetual Help, our patroness, our advocate." South - The Sacred Heart of Jesus at bottom the words, "Sweet Heart of Jesus, be my love." South, above sanctuary door -- no picture -- at bottom the words " Sodalities of young and married ladies." North -- above door --same-- the words "Sodalities of young and married Men." BIG windows each opposite complements the other, i.e. North to South.
The Appurtenances of St. Mary
(Bul. 1 Jan. 1978)
North -- Top shows the pelican-bird feeding her chicks with her own blood. A symbol of our Lord wounding Himself to feed us his children. Grapes are shown also; at the bottom the words, "Eltern der Maria Finder" (Parents of Maria). South - Top depicts a wounded, yet glorious Lamb, with banner of Red Cross (meaning that Jesus is the Lamb-ever glorious). #1 window on South donated by Charles Frick family from Kirkwood. #2 window on North donated by Henry and Anna Lindemann. Picture on top is a heart with a sword; plus a crown. This is the symbol of the Blessed Virgin's life foretold to her in the temple; when she presented Him to Simeon the prophet, 40 days after Jesus' birth. #2 South on top is simply "M" meaning Mary --Mother. Both opposite windows say a lot. Our Mother Mary gained her crown through the death of her Son; a sword through her heart; a pain worse than death. At bottom #2 South -- "Mathias and Mary Vondera". #3 South -- picture of a towel with Jesus' face' a crown of thorns on His head -- called Veronica's Veil. At bottom -- "Jacob and Franciska Gaasch". #3 North -- top -- A cross and scales, plus heart in middle of heart. Because of Jesus' death, caused by a broken heart amidst his sorrows -- the thorns. He balanced the scales of justice unbalanced previously by sin. The cross bar of scales in a very ancient symbol to remind us of the Real Cross of Jesus. This window again mirrors the South Window -- Jesus' Passion and Way of the Cross.
The Appurtenances of St. Mary
(Bul. 8 Jan. 1978)
#4 Window North -- top -- A 7-branch candle stick; (called menorah) flanked by the Law, that is one stone table with the first three commandments dealing with God; and one stone tablet with the second group of commandments dealing with man to man. Also, a trumpet is on each side of the candlestick. At bottom "Henry and Frances Hanneken". This represents the Old Covenant. The ten commandments announced by horns and the candlestick, part of the liturgy of the old testament; with authority from God. #4 South -- top picture of pope's crown, called Tiara. Bottom -"Johan and Wilhelmina Otten". N.B. This south window complements north window. With authority from God this represents the new order. The pope's had has three layers signifying the power to teach -- to rule -- to sanctify; all in a shape of a beehive. One of the pope's titles is "Keeper of the Bees"; we are the bees; supposedly busy building the honey comb in the house of the Lord. #5 window North --top picture of a dove, bottom "baptize them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Ghost" - Matthew XXV - III - 19. This represents the scene of Jesus' baptism, the descent of the Holy Sprit and also of the Command of Jesus, just before His Ascension, because all authority and power is His. #5 South - Top -- picture of the sun and 2 keys crossed. Bottom -- "Whose sins you shall forgive -- they are forgiven." John XX 23. Again this window complements the #5 North window. It was His mission on earth, sent by the Father, to forgive sins. With authority, Jesus commissions his apostles and their successors with Holy Orders; power to forgive sins for all men, all times, all ages.
The bulletin of December 27 thanked Theresa Schmitz who had donated the new figurines for the crib. It was noted that they were even more beautiful than expected and had been prepared by Gary and Eileen Farries of the parish. (Bul. 27 Dec. 81)
The new lecterns (pulpits) that were installed came from Immaculate Conception Church in Old Monroe, Mo. where Father Robert Kraus was formerly the Pastor. When I.C. was revamped Father Kraus offered them to St. Mary's and Don & Mary Unnerstall delivered them, cleaned them, and installed them. (Bul.3 Jan.82)
Help wanted: We have eight and one-half quilts to finish this year. There are two quilt frames at school and plenty of room for you. (Bul.10 Jan. 82)
Church Sign "The Lord loveth a cheerful giver, but he also accepteth from a mean old grouch". $29,812.93 collected in 1981 envelopes. (Bul.21 Feb. 82)
Fish Fry March 5, 1982 sponsored by School committee 5:00pm to 8:00pm. $3.00 (Bul.21 Feb.82)
We will welcome the first communion class at the 10a.m. mass on April 18. Members of the class are Kevin Ulrich, Jill Nichols, Tom Merseal, Tim Henson and Sean Cunningham. (Bul. 4 April 82)
Bible School June 7th to June 18th conducted by The Sisters of St. Francis, SGM of Alton, IL. (Bul. 11 April 82)
All servers - if you wish to go to a baseball game on June 23rd, Mr. John Knight has offered to take you with some other volunteers.
For the first time in our parish we are happy to announce the ordination of Mr. Robert Knight to the Order of (Deacon) Diaconate on the Feast of the Ascension of this past week. Congrats tot he family of Mr. & Mrs. John Knight. (Bul.23 May 82)
Next Sunday welcome Father Wilmot of the Mill Hill Fathers, who will be here to explain his St. Joseph's Society for Foreign Missions. A second collection will be taken. (Bul.4 July 82)
Thanks to Len Unnerstall. We finally improved the cemetery slope for future grass cutting and filling of holes. (Bul.30 May 82)
In preparation for the picnic this is to remind the ladies to pick up "stewing hens" at the rectory after masses. (Bul.5 June 82)
More good news - Anthony & Katheryn Hanneken of St. Gabriel's Parish in St. Louis remembered their "roots" in their will. The family presented a check for $7,000.00 last Thursday. It was suggested we air condition the church. (Bul.22 Aug 82)
Re: page 50 - Heavy equipment and labor for the grading donated by Len Unnerstall and Earl Hagedorn. The straw by Cornelius Eagan and the labor of seeding by Ken Riley, Don Hagedorn, Ruth, Rod & Ryan Toben. Everybody was glad to work on the entrance, but not to stay permanently. (Bul.4 Nov.82)
The big news of this past week has been and still is the floods of Bourbeuse and Meramec Rivers. May God grant all afflicted to be restored to their homes very soon. (Bul.12 Dec.82)
Pray for Andrew Kaveney who was drowned. God have mercy on him. (Bul.19. Dec. 82)
Hello -Goodbye - The New Altar Society Officers for two years will be Loyola Vondera, President and Verna Vondera as Vice-President. To Marie Schroeder and Mary Gremczynski, thanks and a job well done. (Bul.9 Jan. 83)
The first dance at St. Mary's hall in 1983 was held on Saturday, January 15th. Music was provided by "Yesterday's Gold" from 8:30pm with admission of $4.00.
Mr. Charles Know died this past week. In your charity, please pray for his soul. (Bul. 15 May 83)
Dedication of the new St. Francis Borgia Regional High School at Washington at 2:00pm on Sunday, January 23rd, 1983 by Archbishop John L. May.
Second dance on February 12, 1983 with music provided by "East Street".
February, 1983 Father Mark Ebert of I.C. Union was appointed to be priest coordinator of Pro-Life for the Deanery. This resulted in increased activity for Pro-Life for the Deanery.
First Communion Class of 1983, Brent Batcheller, John Eckelkamp, Ronnie Hake, Travis Overschmidt and Jeff Ulrich. (Bul.10 April 83)
On May 21 this week, Father Robert Knight of our parish will be ordained at 9:00 am in the new St. Louis Cathedral. (Bul.15 May 83)
Thanks to John Knight for his preparation and responsibility of conducting the server picnic last Sunday at Rainbow Lake. (Bul.17 July 83)
Next Sunday, August 21st, we welcome Father Frank Carr of the Columbian Fathers for our annual "Mission Co-op Plan" collection. (Bul.14, Aug.83)
A quilt for the pastor is gratefully acknowledged. It is beautiful. Thanks to all who contributed their labor. Quite a surprise. (Bul.23 Oct. 83)
Last Sunday's collection: Envelopes $719.00 Loose $38.45 (Bul.13 Nov.83)
Welcome to the newly registered family. Larry and Sandra Schroeder and children at Highway AT. (Bul.27 Nov.83)
Our St. Vincent DePaul Society of our parish formed last Sunday has elected John Knight as President, Ken Riley as Vice-President, Bernice Haley as Secretary and Theresa Schmitz as Treasurer. (Bul.4 Dec.83)
Father Stand, a member of the Servite Order, will speak at the masses this weekend in behalf of their missions in Zululand in South Africa. A second collection will be taken up. (Bul 16, July 89)
Four new families were welcomed to the parish - Williams, Ringkamp, Serbus and Green. (Bul.8 Oct.89)
Picnic Report: Gross $20,189.34, Expenses $8,029.25, Net $12,160.00 (Bul.22 Oct.89)
Our parish school board is sponsoring an all you can eat breakfast Sunday Feb. 18 from 8 am till 12 noon. Adults $3.50 Children $2.00 under 6 free. (Bul.18 Feb. 90)
New Pastor! Just in case you did not read the St. Louis Review as yet, St. Mary's is going to have a new pastor. He is the Rev. Lawrence Schieber, formerly pastor of Sacred Heart Church in Eureka. He is a good priest and I am sure you will like him. I have been assigned as Senior Priest in Service to St. Clare of Assisi Parish in Ellisville. (Bul.3 June 90)
The Franciscan Sisters will teach our summer Bible School beginning Monday, June 18 (Bul.3 June 90)
A farewell and welcome dinner will be held in the hall on our picnic grounds Sunday afternoon at 4 pm (Bul.24 June 90)
One A Year Missionary next weekend. Our parish will have Fr. James P. Graham come to our parish to speak at all the masses for The Vincentian Mission cause. Envelopes are in the pews. (Bul.15 July 90)
Financial Report July 1, 1988 - June 30, 1989
(Bul.13-14 Oct 90)
A whole new roof has been put on the school building. The sacristy rain damage has been repaired and the room painted (Bul.10-11 Nov.90)
Congratulation to Robert & Frances Purschke who will celebrate their 50th Anniversary at mass in St. Mary's Church at 2 pm this Sunday. (Bul.17-18 Nov.90)
Front pews in church have been stabilized as much as possible and now can be leaned on as you kneel. Anyone ready to use these front pews? (Bul.8-9 Dec.90)
We have eight pilgrims committed from the parish to go to the Pro-Life March in Washington, DC. (Bul.5/6 Jan 91)
Part Time Job Anyone? The parish is seeking to hire a maintenance man. Our present good maintenance man, Mr. Ken Schmidt is retiring. If interested, please see the pastor about times and salary. (Bul.16/17 Feb.91)
New Officers for the Altar Society are:
Mrs. Karen Brinkman - President
Mrs. Joan Knight - Vice-President
Mrs. Doris Otten - Treasurer
Mrs. Loyola Vondera - Secretary
Thanks to the past officers, Mrs. Agnes Brinkman, President and Mrs. Mary Grempczynski, vice-president. (Bul.20/21 April 91)
Pastoral Home visits will start this week. (Bul.18/19 May 91)
Fr. Anthony Talir formerly a pastor at St. Mary's and now a senior priest in residence at St. Peter's Parish in Kirkwood will be here for mass on Wednesday and Thursday next week. Welcome Father Talir. (Bul.8/9 June 91)
Thanks to Fr. Ralph Powell for his inspirational mission sermon last Sunday and thanks to all of you who generouly donated $480 to the Dominican Missions. (Bul. 15/16 June 91)
Pastor on Vacation from June 24 to July 8th. Monsignor Aloysius Marschner (presently retired formerly pastor at Neier) will have masses on the next two weekends. (Bul. 22/23 June 91)
Next Sunday October 13, Golden Wedding Anniversary will be celebrated at 10 am mass for Cornelius and Regina Eagan with renewal vows after mass. (Bul. 1 Dec.91)
Thanks to the Bell Mortuary in Pacific and the Oltmann Funeral Home in Union for the Parish calendars. (Bul. 28/29 Dec.91)
Pro Life News - There will be eleven of us going to Washington D.C. for the Pro-Life National March on Jan.22nd. (Bul. 4/5 Jan 92)
St. Blase Blessing of Throats will be given next weekend after the masses. (Bul. 25/26 Jan 92)
Treat for the altar boys will be on April 24 at Busch Stadium at 7:30 pm with the St. Louis Cardinals playing the Montreal Expos. (Bul. 15/16 Feb.92)
Fr. Francis Matyas, former Pastor here, is celebrating his 50th Anniversary to the priesthood next Sunday, March 22nd at St. Thomas the Apostle church, 3500 St. Catherine Street, Florissant, MO at 2 pm. (Bul. 14/15 Mar.92)
New parking lot surface was well received last weekend. (Chip & Seal) (Bul.9/10 May 92)
On Sunday, June 28, Bishop Zipfel will preach the 8 am mass and both celebrate and preach at the 10 am mass on Sunday. (Bul. 6/7 June 92)
RIP to Fr. Anthony Talir who served as Pastor some thirty years ago. He was buried Tuesday from St. Peters in Kirkwood. (Bul. 13/14 June 92)
Pastor's vacation - the weekend masses will be celebrated by the once a year missionary father, Fr. Eugene Martens S.J. (Bul 27/28/ June 92)
RIP to Sister Vitalis Linnemann C.P.P.S. who taught here at St. Mary's from 1963-1965. (Bul. 4/5 July 92)
A communal penance service will be held at St. Mary's this Thursday at 7:30 pm. Father H. Creason from St. James will be here to help you. (Bul. 12/13 Dec.92)
Birthright on Highway 44 in Eureka sends us a warm and hearty "Thank you" for our large parish donation to their cause. One hundred nineteen envelopes used and donation amount to $1,138.00 (Bul. 9/10 Jan.93)
Twenty people from our parish are going to the National Pro Life March in Washington DC. Church furnace is about to retire. It has worked for at least thirty years. The serial number on it suggests that it was made in 1956. The Parish Board is working and planning a new church furnace. The present furnace is still working, but has a "death rattle" to it, so you might consider dressing a little warmer. (Bul. 16/17 Jan. 93)
Annual Eucharistic Holy Hour will be held on Sunday March 14 from 4 to 5 P.M. Former pastors Father Joseph Lessard, Father Charles Ruff, Father Francis Matyas are being invited to come to this holy hour. Everyone is invited and urged to participate. (Bul. 27-28 Feb. 93)
The new furnace is installed. (Bul. 6-7 Mar. 93)
Three of our P.S.R. students will make their first communion today at the 10:00 a.m. mass. Congraulations to Sarah Brinkman, Michael Pingleton and Megan Schmitz. Thanks to their teacher, Mrs. Jacquelyn Schmidt. (Bul 27-28, Mar. 93)
Latest parish improvements: New vinyl floor in school rest room, new kitchen flooring in rectory and road rock on picnic ground entrance. (Bul. 4 April 93)
Our once a year live missionary will be here on July 10/11. Father Harry Korte, C.S.S.R. will make an appeal for the needs of the Redemptorist Missions in Brazil and Thailand. Lightning hit the church and rectory on Monday, June 28th causing some damage. (Bul. 4 July 93)
Help for the flood victims -- Next Sunday our parish will be participating in the Deanery wide effort to help the children in the flooded area of the diocese by gathering school supplies and bringing them to the church next Sunday (Bul. 15 Aug. 93)
The confessional in back of church has been carpeted to make it more sound proof. (Bul 22 Aug. 93)
Picnic results: Gross $20,014.38
Net $10,093.03 (Bul. 5 Sept. 93)
State of the Parish report: 7-1-92 to 6-30-93 Expense $102,598.30 Income $109,675.81
Physical improvements included new boiler for school and new heating system in church. (Bul. 10 Oct. 93)
Handrails in front of church are now in place (Bul. 7 Nov. 93)
Preparations for 94 prayer march to Washington. Cost of bus ticket for parishioners $40.00 and $110.00 for non-parishioners.
Pro Life Activities -- All 20 people from the parish are asked to meet at "Tri-County" on Thursday morning at 9:30. Hopefully we shall return by 10 a.m. on Saturday morning. (Bus trip to Washington D.C. for Pro Life March). (Bul. 6 Jan. 94)
Annual choir dinner will be held on Feb. 13. Choir memebers should assemble on church grounds at 11 a.m. (Bul. 30 Jan. 94)
Annual Eucharistic Holy Hour will be held today at 4 p.m. There will be communal prayers, sermon by Father Ira Bell, a very eloquent speaker from the Archdiocese. (Bul 6, Mar. 94)
New archbishop, Justin Rigali, to be installed on March 15 at 7 p..m at the new cathedral. (Bul 3 Mar. 94)
Archdiocesan Development Appeal -- 1994 Parish goal was $6,400.00. Amount given and pledged, $6,693.00. $293.00 over goal (Bul 15 May 94)
Thanks to the Sisters of St. Francis of the Martyr St. George, the workers, parents and children for involvement in the last two weeks of Bible School. (Bul. 25/26 Jun 94)
Archbishop Rigali will celebrate mass at 2 p.m. Sunday at Saint Francis Borgia in recognition of the year of the family. (Bul. 2 Oct. 94)
All parish meeting will be held on Oct. 16 after 10 a.m. mass. Elections will be held for two positions on the Parish Board. (Bul. 9 Oct. 94)
Fiscal Report July 1, 1993 to June 30, 1994.
Surplus $4,999.11 (Bul. 16 Oct. 94)
Congratulations to new parish board members, Mrs. Judy Rollins and Mr. Dennis Brinkman (Bul. 30 Oct. 94)
Thanks to Bell Mortuary in pacific and to the Oltmann Funeral Home in Union, Mo. for the 1995 calendars. Their kindness is truly appreciated. (Bul 1 Jan. 95)
Chili Supper planned for Saturday, Feb. 25 at 6 p.m. This will be a parish family non fundraiser get together. (Bul. 15 Jan. 95)
Pro Life News -- The pilgrimage to the nation's capitol turned out well after a snowy trip through Ohio and Pennsylvania. Bus did not arrive in "DC" until 10:30 a.m. on Monday. Some of the St. Mary's pilgrims visited Congressman Volkmer and lobbied him on pro life activities (Bul. 29 Jan 95)
History of parish was first published in the Sunday Bulletins by Father Ruff in the 1970's. It was again printed in the Bulletins starting 12 Feb. 95.
Congratulations to Mr. and Mrs. Isadore Kuchem celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary this coming Saturday. They were married in this church those 40 years ago. (Bul. 4 May 95)
Steeple repairs have been completed. (bul 6 August 95)
We had forty-eight pilgrim "Pro-Lifers" on our all night bus ride to Washington D.C. for Pro Life Rally. (Bul. 28 Jan. 96)
No smoking is now the rule at our Parish Picnic Hall. (Bul. 25 Feb. 96)
Six PSR students will make their first communion today at the 10 a.m. mass. They are Nicholas Collins, Byron Davis, Andrew Hearst, Joshua Knott, Carla Stricker and Amy Serbus. (Bu. 24 Mar. 96)
Your gift to God and the Parish last weekend was $1,128.00 with 97 envelopes used. (Bul 5 May 96)
Archdiocesan Development appeal. St Mary's met its goal of $6.650.00, with a total pledge of $7,033.00 (Bul 26 May 96)
Fr. Donald Berkbigler, C.M. will speak at all the masses this weekend for the Vincentian Mission (Bul. 7 July 96)
Christmas Penance service will be held at St. Mary's Church on Thursday, December 10, at 7:30 p.m. Fr John Morse from St. Ignatius Parish and Fr. Hugh Creason from St. James Parish will be here. (Bul. 1 Dec. 96)
Annual Choir dinner is today after the 10 a.m. mass at Altemuellers in Washington, Mo. (Bul 25 Jan 98)
Annual Eucharistic Holy Hour will be held this year on March 8, Sunday afternoon from 4:00 p.m to 5:00 p.m. (Bul 1 Mar 98)
Congratulations to our PSR students who will make their first communion at the 10:00 a.m. mass. They are Matthew Gellhaus, Matthew Meier, Caleb Knott, Jamie Overman and Beth McMullen. (Bu. 22 Mar 98)
The church electronic bells are now in place and working and also paid for. They intimately came to $3.430.00 which was "within budget". Enjoy them! (Bul. 3 May 98)
Archbishop Rigali, the pastor of the St. Louis Archdiocese, is coming to the parish today. We welcome him. We honor him and thank him for his visit to us. St. Mary's Parish has written records back to 1881 and has been the heart of the community over these past one hundred years. (Bul 10 May 98)
The highly successful "Flea Market" grossed $600.00 for the Ladies Altar Sodality and it was a fun time for all. The flea market was held June 6th. (Bul 14 June 98)
RIP Cardinal Carberry, the Archbishop here in our archdiocese before Archbishops May and Rigali, has been called by God in Death. (Bul 21 June 98)
The annual visit of the live missionary to our parish will be on July 4/5. We are happy to welcome Fr. Vasco Milani of the St. Francis Xavier Missionaries. (Bul 28 June 98)
Final picnic Report -- Dinners served 1,696. (Bul 13 Sept. 98)
Fr. Charles Ruff will be here at St. Mary's for the weekend masses next weekend. Father Schieber shall be away with three other priests in South Bend, Indiana to see the Notre Dame/Stanford football games and have a little time off. (Bu. 27 Sept 98)
The church organ is now fully repaired. The repair bill came to $2,000.00. Our parish is privileged to have such a fine pipe organ. Its history is most interesting. IT was build in 1862 and bought for our present church in 1910. Since then there have been improvements and necessary repairs. On this subject I think that gratitude should be paid to our parish organist, Jane Peirick, who has skillfully played it and cared for it. (Bul. 11 Sept. 98)
End of Chapter Vll
Chapter 8 / Moselle
Moselle was once a booming, bustling small country town. The area had first been homesteaded in the 1820's and 1830's. The area was noted for its deposits of iron ore.
Moselle is a French name, and was named after the Moselle River, which empties in the Rhine River, South of Bonn, Germany. One would have to assume it reminded the early settlers of the country they had left to come to America.
In the 1840's, the church of St. John Gildehaus was established to the North. The Catholic population, wanting to go to church, found it necessary to travel between 6 to 12 miles to attend church at Gildehaus on the poor roads of the time.
With the establishment of St. Mary's in 1880, it was natural that Moselle was the arrival and departure point for people in the area. The Frisco Railroad line earlier after the end of the Civil War. The town was only about three miles distant down the hill to the Bourbeuse River.
Moselle was a bustling, small town at t he beginning of the 20th century, but the depression of 1929, the closing of the iron works, and the bypassing of town by the new highways slowly began to close the businesses in town. After the bridge over the Bourbeuse washed out in December 1982 the community became separated from St. Mary's. However, some of the families still drive around on Highway AM, 1-44 and O to get to St. Mary's.
It might be noted that the first post office, which only lasted the year of 1851 was called Moselle Furnace. The Moselle post office was operated from 1860 to 1971.
In the history of St. Mary's, one reads of trips being made to the Moselle train station to pick up priest who were coming to St. Mary's.
After the Civil War, railroads issued free passes to most politicians, clergy and newspaperman who were on assignment. In 1888 the interstate Commerce Commission was formed, and at that time at the urging of several of the large newspapers in the United States, they eliminated the free pass abuse. Railroad management realized the need to do something to keep the clergy happy, so they instituted clergy fairs which were greatly reduced fares.
In the early history of our church, Father Hussman came from Sullivan twice a month to have mass. This was long before Highway 66, so it is safe to say he came from Sullivan to Moselle and returned as a benefit of clergy fare.
End of Chapter Vlll
Chapter 9 / Helpers Along the Way
Rev. Harvey Dubbs
Deacon Harvey was born January 27, 1941 in west St. Louis County new Babler State Park. He attended Wild Horse, Melrose and Pond Grade Schools. Deacon Harvey graduated from Roosevelt High School. He became a Catholic in 1959.
Mr. Dubbs married Barbara E. Leicht in October 1960 at St. Mary of Perpetual Help Church. They have five children and eleven grandchildren and a foster grandchild. Deacon Harvey was ordained in the Archdiocese of St. Louis in 2001 by Cardinal Justin Rigali. He is Pastoral Associate at St. Mary's and St. James Parishes, Chaplain for Boles Fire Protection District and an on-call Chaplain for St. John's Hospital in Washington, MO.
John was born August 6, 1922 in St. Louis County Missouri. John and his wife, Ellen, became members of St. Mary's in 1980. They became very active in parish activities. John sponsored picnics, fishing outings and trips to the St. Louis Cardinals for the servers. In addition, he served as auctioneer at many charity events held by the parish. In addition, Mr. Knight did extra duty playing Santa Claus and also St. Nicholas at many church functions.
The two sons who were mentioned previously in our book, became priests. Robert became a priest in 1983 and Jeffery was ordained in 1986. Robert is now an associate pastor in Clayton and Jeffery is the pastor of St. John's Gildehaus.
Mr. Knight passed away on Good Friday, April 9, 2004. His funeral was held at St. Mary's on Monday, April 12, 2004 with Bishop Raymond Burke, thirteen priests, as well as the Knights of Columbus in attendance. Interment was in the church cemetery. A fitting thanks for his many contributions to St. Mary's Parish.
St. Mary's has always been blessed with a group of ladies that have quilted quilts for the picnic. At one picnic they had as high as 18 quilts raffled off @ $1 per chance on all the quilts, which was a real bargain. Usually six to eight ladies made a quilt. As time went by and the ladies passed away and the younger ladies went to work, six ladies of the parish started the quilting group at the school or hall whichever was available. They were Agnes Overschmidt, Ruth Light, Florence Hanneken, Leona Hanneke, Veronica Vondera and Louella Overschmidt. At present it has continued with approximately ten ladies. They are called "Stitch and Snitch", a name which they have mixed emotions about.
There are certain people in the parish who will never be replaced because of their loyalty and faithfulness. One outstanding person is Jane Peirick, who was a dedicated organist for 42 years. She was always present for masses, funerals and special occasions. She is a unique person who donated her time and services at all times, and she also had patience with the choir.
We should never forget a wonderful couple, Willard and Bernice Haley. They worked for years at the Blessed Mother's shrine planting flowers, shrubs, weeding, doing whatever it took to make it a beautiful shrine. Their services should never be forgotten because of the marvelous and excellent job they did. God rest their souls.
End of Chapter lX
Chapter 10 / Art Glass Windows
Chapter 11 / St Mary's Today - 2004
Chapter 11 / Rest in Peace
Alson, Audrey J.
Apprill, Severin E.
Atkinson, Benjamin J.
Atkinson, Mary A.
Batcheller, George A. III
Batcheller, George A. Jr.
Bauman, Ernest A.
Bauman, Mary A.
Beckmann, Anna H.
Brasier, James G. Jr.
Brasier, James S.
Brasier, Mary E.
Breer, Henry B.
Breitenbach, Cecilia M
Breitenbach, Edward J.
Breitenbach, Fred W.
Breitenbach, Frederick J.
Breitenbach, Mary N.
Breitenbach, Rosa J.
Brinker, Helen H.
Brinkman, Clarence H.
Brinkman, Mary A.
Brinkman, Mary A.
Brinkmann, Frances A.
Brinkmann, Robert L
Brinkmann, William H.
Brown, Annie F.
Brown, Ervin M.
Brown, Louis A.
Brown, Marie W.
Brown, Ronnie O.
Byrne, Wesley T.
Crenshaw, Carol L.
Crenshaw, Rodger J.
Crenshaw, Scott L.
Crowe, Madlyn R.
Domachowski, James S.
Domachowski, Kevin L.
Donahue, Ethel B.
Eagan, Emmett J.
Eagan, Jerome D.
Eagan, Josephine F.
Eagan, Michael J.
Eckelkamp, Ann M.
Eckelkamp, Augustus J.
Eckelkamp, Bernard H.
Eckelkamp, Bertha C.
Eckelkamp, Bonnie L.
Eckelkamp, David A.
Eckelkamp, Edna M.
Eckelkamp, Edward B.
Eckelkamp, Edward S.
Eckelkamp, Fred W.
Eckelkamp, George E.
Eckelkamp, Glennon M.
Eckelkamp, Ludwig B.
Eckelkamp, Maria A.
Eckelkamp, Robert F.
Eckelkamp, Rudolph B.
Eckelkamp, Vernon E.
Eckelkamp, William E.
Eckelkamp, William J.
Eichelberger, John O.
Eichelberger, Vera Ann
Espowe, Mary E.
Feltmann, Glennon E.
Finder, Anton F.
Finder, E. Bernadina
Finder, Henry F.
Finder, Herman H.
Finder, Herman H.
Finder, J. William
Finder, Mary A.
Finder, Mary A.
Finder, Vincent H.
Frick, Anna M.
Frick, Infant (Dau. Of C.E. & M.)
Gaasch, Maria C.
Gildehaus, Aurelia K.
Grempczynski, Thomas C.
Grempczynski, William P
Groom, Jacob E.
Hagedorn, Anna M.
Hagedorn, Bernard J.
Hagedorn, Charles H.
Hagedorn, Clarence C.
Hagedorn, Earl F.
Hagedorn, George H.
Hagedorn, Gertrude F.
Hagedorn, Henry D.
Hagedorn, Lawrence J.
Hagedorn, Matilda W.
Hagedorn, Walter J.
Haley, Bernice W.
Haley, Willard E.
Hanneke, Ashton (Bud)
Hanneke, Henry M.
Hanneke, Joseph J.
Hanneke, Leona R.
Hanneke, Lillian D.
Hanneke, Teresa W.
Hanneken Louisa E.
Hanneken, Albert H.
Hanneken, Alvina M.
Hanneken, Anton A.
Hanneken, Anton H.
Hanneken, Bernard H.
Hanneken, Bernard J.
Hanneken, Casper H.
Hanneken, Catherine E.
Hanneken, David J.
Hanneken, Dorothy, C.
Hanneken, Edwin J.
Hanneken, Elisabeth, M.
Hanneken, Elmer A.
Hanneken, Florence A.
Hanneken, Frances E.
Hanneken, Frances G.
Hanneken, Frances W.
Hanneken, Fred H.
Hanneken, Henry A.
Hanneken, Henry B.
Hanneken, John B.
Hanneken, John G.
Hanneken, John H.
Hanneken, Leo. W.
Hanneken, Louis W.
Hanneken, Louis W.
Hanneken, Louise M.
Hanneken, Mabel C.
Hanneken, Pauline C.
Hanneken, Ralph B.
Hanneken, Richard L.
Hanneken, Tamra S.
Hanneken, Theresa M.
Hanneken, Vincent H.
Hanneken, Wilhelm H.
Hanneken, William F.
Hanneken, William H.
Hanneken, William J.
Heil, Gertrude F.
Heil, Justin F.
Heimann, Edward G.
Helfrich, LaVern I.
Henneken, Mary A.
Herbst, Clarence H.
Herbst, Marie E.
Hobelmann, Eleanore C.
Hobelmann, George H.
Hoerr, Ellen G.
Hoerr, Louis T.
Hoffman, Eugene J.
Holderle, Lester W.
Ingalls, Elizabeth L.
Ingalls, Raymond E. Sr.
James, Rosa (nee Kindell)
Kahmke, Marcella L.
Kahmke, Theodore F.
Kelleher, Daniel J.
Kelleher, Mary A.
Kentch, John S.
Kentch, Norma J.
Kindel, Agnes W.
Kindel, Henry P.
Kindel, John B.
Kindel, Joseph H.
Kindel, Peter J.
Kindel, Rosa V.
Kindel, Victor F.
Kindel, Wilbert H.
Kindel, Wilhelmina I.
Kindle, Frankie P.
Knight, John J.
Knotts, Ida E.
Knox, Charles E.
Knox, Rosemary A.
Krewinghaus, Frances M.
Lakebrink, Dorothy G.
Lakebrink, Joseph H.
Leicht, Marion F.
Leicht, Ruth V.
Lenau, Bernard L.
Lenau, Carl A.
Lenau, Clara B.
Lenau, Henry G.
Lenau, Laura D.
Lenau, Olivia R.
Lenau, Seraphina R.
Licklider, Deborah A.
Lindemann, Bernard H.
Lindemann, Dora M.
Lindemann, Edward G.
Lindemann, Henry L.
Lindemann, Mathilda C.
Lindemann, Minnie R.
Maupin, Gertrude E.
Maupin, Henry F.
McCarty, Laura J.
Nauber, Henry J.
Nebur, Anna M.
Nebur, Charles H.
Nebur, Hohn H.
Olson, Robert D.
Otten, Berta E.
Otten, Elmer J.
Otten, Henry, J.
Otten, John C.
Otten, Josephine E.
Otten, Kenneth E.
Otten, Mary A.
Overschmidt, Agnes F.
Overschmidt, David J.
Overschmidt, Gergory J.
Overschmidt, Mary J.
Overschmidt, Raymona A.
Overschmidt, Raymond W.
Patterson, Ronald L.
Peirick, Edward J.
Peirick, Emma L.
Peirick, Frank B.
Peirick, Hermann H.
Peirick, Louis S.
Peirick, Magdelena M.
Peirick, Mary A.
Peirick, Mayme G.
Platt, John S.
Riley, Bernice D.
Riley, Kenneth D.
Ringkamp, Anthony M.
Rotan, Veronica M.
Schmitz, Harold A.
Schmitz, Helen D.
Schmitz, John L.
Schmitz, Maureen A.
Schmitz, Robert P.
Schroeder, Marie A.
Schroeder, Michael J.
Schuchart, Elizabeth S.
Schuchart, William H.
Seaton, Robert A.
Sherba, Helen A.
Sherba, Marie F.
Small, Scott W.
Stallings, John W.
Stallings, Mary I.
Stoner, Louis W.
Stotko, Albert L.
Stotko, Mary A.
Straatmann, Hilda H.
Straatmann, Joseph F.
Tegeler, Albert J.
Tegeler, Ruth E.
Toben, Renee H.
Tyler, Anna M. w/child
Tyler, Eugene Sr.
Tyler, Josephine F.
Unnerstall, Adolph J.
Unnerstall, Amanda A.
Unnerstall, Ben J.
Unnerstall, Earl P.
Unnerstall, Elizabeth A.
Unnerstall, Elizabeth C.
Unnerstall, Henry E.
Unnerstall, Louis E.
Unnerstall, Louise M.
Unnerstall, Minnie A
Unnerstall, Rosie A.
Unnerstall, William A.
Vondera, Alice C.
Vondera, Anna J.
Vondera, Anna J.
Vondera, Emil W.
Vondera, Eugene C.
Vondera, Frances A.
Vondera, Henry L.
Vondera, J. Benjamin
Vondera, John C.
Vondera, Louis H.
Vondera, Mary S.
Vondera, Stacy M.
Wamhoff, Fay E.
Wamhoff, Nicholsas J.
Westrich, Anna M.
Westrich, Anton L.
Yoakum, Ashley M.
Ziegerer, Henry J.
Ziegerer, James H.
Ziegerer, Kenneth J.
Ziegerer, Roberta R.
End of Chapter Xlll